Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice on buying a new computer - Student

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
Anonymous
115 Views, 11 Replies

Need advice on buying a new computer - Student

Hello everyone. I am an architecture student looking to buy a new computer in the less than $2000 range. I currently use a 2 year old laptop for modelling and rendering with:

Core duo 2.0Ghz
2gb ram (am using 3gb switch)
256mb nvidia geforce go 7800 series.

Using 3ds max 9- 32bit.

Last semester I started using Revit to model a 12 story midrise building. By the end of the project, my computer was pretty slow in revit but was still manageble. Importing it into 3dmax for rendering ended up being a disaster. Even in wireframe mode the framerate was around 2fps and the complicated areas I just couldnt view because of the lag. Just using a basic material, the scanline and mental ray renderers crashed everytime I took shots over 640 x 480. Memory was always the problem it seemed. I still call myself a noob when it comes to 3d graphics just having 1 years worth of experience but I have a feeling my computer is very outdated with what I am trying to do with it. I could also be just missing alot of shortcuts and knowledge.

Just some general questions:

My final building/scene in Max ended up having a little less than 1million polygons in it. Is this a ridiculously large amount of polygons? or is it a combo of alot of polys with my low end machine.

Looking at new comps, it seems that custom built computers are alot cheaper and I can get alot more computing power for the amount of money I can spend. Are there any problems with custom built computers that I should be aware of before I buy one, or should I stick to a name brand computer.