Area :: Header
Interested in making Indie games?

Register for a Meet the Experts webinar with Digital-Tutors today!
Discussion Groups

Installation - Hardware - OS

Reply
Contributor
adarsh_1
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-25-2008

Maya 2008 Preferences to use all the cores in a Quad Core System

9 Views, 2 Replies
09-14-2008 05:27 AM
Hello All,

System specification is as below:

QUAD Xeon E5420 2.50Ghz Processors
8GB FBDIMM DDR2 800 REG ECC
80GB 7200rpm Module System Drive
Operating System: Windows XP Pro x64
3D App: Maya2008

Maya seems to drive 2 cores to 100%, while keep the other cores not being used.
Just wanted to know whether there is any preference settings in Maya 2008, where I can drive all the cores. OR ELSE
1) Have to re-install Maya 2008
2) System hardware is not compatible

Your help would be helpful.

Thank you
Cheers,
Adarsh
-
http://www.adarshpatil.com
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite* | Moderator
n8skow
Posts: 5,354
Registered: ‎10-06-2006

Re: Maya 2008 Preferences to use all the cores in a Quad Core System

10-01-2008 02:47 PM in reply to: adarsh_1
rendering is about the only process that can use all your cores at the moment, though more features will be multi-threaded in the future...
you can set 'use all processors' in the batch render menu.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
adarsh_1
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-25-2008

Re: Maya 2008 Preferences to use all the cores in a Quad Core System

10-01-2008 04:17 PM in reply to: adarsh_1
Just found out

1) When we render a scene from within Maya app, it uses all the cores (use all the CPU is checked in preference)
2) When we render using command line only 50% of the CPU on a system are used by default
3) In order to use all the CPU via command line rendering -mem 0 -rt 4 ( Quad Core/ 8 for 8 cores), then it uses up all the cores.

Thanks for the reply

Adarsh
Cheers,
Adarsh
-
http://www.adarshpatil.com
Please use plain text.