Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hardware Configuration for Modeling ... NOT Rendering

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Gruetzi
506 Views, 4 Replies

Hardware Configuration for Modeling ... NOT Rendering

I am an IT Tech that's been given the task of reducing costs for my company's 3D modeling team. They do large and complex static 3D models and presentations of buildings, landscapes, but nothing animated. Every year these guys ask for more and more powerful and extremely EXPENSIVE computers:

-Superfast processors with as many cores as possible

-RAM RAM RAM RAM

-Graphics cards that cost as much as the rest of the PC

Their justification has always been "We need it. If not, we can't work."

The company has been buying these guys what they want without question, basically because the decision makers wouldn't know the difference between dual core and hardcore (although my guess is that their fully into the latter from the traces I can see in the firewall logs.)

I've been looking into this and it seems to me that the hardware required for Modeling is completely the opposite to Rendering, hence the idea behind Render Farms.

So, I plan on building these guys a render farm with about a dozen or so of their old PCs, which will give them about 80 Cores to render on and then I can spec what I hope to be a much cheaper machine for their Modeling work.

Sorry for the long story, but here's my question. Everywhere I look, I can find hardware specs and discussions for 3DS Max that all seem to be geared toward either Rendering or Rendering and Modeling combined, but never Just Modeling. Why?

Also, could someone please give me their best advice on the following:

i7 or Xeon? Which path should I take for a Modeling PC?