Area :: Header
Meet the Experts Webinar
Learn how Black Forest Games rebooted the classic C64 platform game “Giana Sisters” from 1987 using Autodesk 3ds Max®.
Discussion Groups

Installation - Hardware - OS

Reply
New Member
paulforsyth_1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2008

Distributed rendering setup questions

5 Views, 2 Replies
10-30-2008 12:19 PM
Hi there,

We wish to build a small farm based on IBM blade centres/servers but were wondering if the lack of graphics cards is a show stopper, when the farm is being used in batch mode...

Also, will Maya batch better if there are multiple nodes, with Maya on each node, or if we use a clustered solution where there is a single *huge* virtual node to target and utilise, with a single instance of Maya.

I've read around but i havent found answers to these questions. Any help is appreciated :)

Many Thanks,

Paul
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite* | Moderator
n8skow
Posts: 5,265
Registered: ‎10-06-2006

Re: Distributed rendering setup questions

10-30-2008 03:51 PM in reply to: paulforsyth_1
You don't need a graphics card to batch (software) render...
Can't answer your 2nd question though, would be best to either talk directly with Autodesk tech support or perhaps your local reseller.
Please use plain text.
New Member
paulforsyth_1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2008

Re: Distributed rendering setup questions

10-31-2008 09:59 AM in reply to: paulforsyth_1
Thanks for this information.

I've tried tech support but reaching a human being on their automated service has so far proved difficult... :smileyhappy:

I'll try a local reseller.

Many thanks!
Please use plain text.