Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building new computer. What do you think?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
108 Views, 6 Replies

Building new computer. What do you think?

This is my first time posting. I will be taking a 3ds max class in about 4 months or so and decided to build a new computer for it (and the future). After checking these and other forums, I have decided on the following and would like your opinions.

Thanks everyone.

Quadro FX580 card

AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz

ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

CORSAIR XMS3 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Dri

I will be buying Design 2010 as a student (hopefully cheaper than regular price)
This will be my main workstation and I plan to run 3ds max and possibly photoshop only. What are your thought?
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

As I posted in your other (deleted) thread - I'd suggest using a motherboard with an nVidia chipset if you're using an nVidia graphics card, which should enable some nifty features to make use of both graphics processors and/or reduce power consumption.
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous

Thanks for replying. Sorry but this is my first time here, didn't mean to post in the wrong area.

I am not sure what the chipset is for the motherboard but will look into it. What "goodies" will the nVidia chipset give me/
Message 4 of 7
generalcody

I would personally swap the Quadro FX580 for a FX1700/1800 and go for an Intel Quad based CPU/MB sollution, but, it looks pretty decent.
--

# Don't walk too fast, you might overlook your life...
Message 5 of 7
Anonymous