Infrastructure Map Server Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Infrastructure Map Server Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Infrastructure Map Server topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Obtain refrence to MgMap Handle

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
anand_ganesh
1015 Views, 4 Replies

Obtain refrence to MgMap Handle

Hello All,

I am new to MapGuide Development. I am using MapGuide 2010 and .NET Development.

This is what I am trying to achieve.

The MapGuide GIS Map is already visible in an Internet Explorer Window.

I should be able to obtain the MgMap Handle and remove or add additional GIS Layers and refresh both Map and Legend.

Can you please give me some suggestions on how I can obtain the Map Handle reference from an existing IE Window ?

Thanking you for your time.

With best regards
Anand
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
sakkaku
in reply to: anand_ganesh

When a window is opened via mapguide it will always (as far as I have seen) have session and mapname passed to it.

Example (If your using < .NET 3.5 you will need to specify the types instead of var):

MapGuideApi.MgInitializeWebTier("/path/to/www/webconfig.ini");

var siteconnection = new MgSiteConnection();

var user = new MgUserInformation(session);
siteconnection.Open(user);

var map = new MgMap(siteconnection);
Map.Open(mapname);

I think that should work. I wrote up a class that handles the session, initializing the map, opening maps via layout/definition/etc.
I would recommend doing that rather then copying and pasting the above for every report.
You can stick MapGuideApi.MgInitializeWebTier() in Application_Start() in global.asax to avoid needing to call it every time a report is opened.

Also I would use the viewer API to refresh the map/legend. The server side functions don't work for the ajax viewer from what I have seen.
Message 3 of 5
anand_ganesh