Infrastructure Map Server General Discussion

Infrastructure Map Server General Discussion

Reply
New Member
aileen3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-30-2014
Message 1 of 4 (244 Views)

No option to 'style a point symbol' in AIS

244 Views, 3 Replies
01-30-2014 04:26 PM

I am currently using Autodesk Infrastructure Studio 2012 and am attempting to change the symbols for layers so that I can incorporate symbols from a created symbol library. The default 'Style Point' option (shown on the left of attached image) does not show any options to 'Style a Point' where I can import the created symbol library (see attached on the left - this layer was an old file).

 

Is there a way in which the 'Style a Point' option will appear so that the symbol library can be incorporated for my final map? 

Thanks.

Mentor
Robert_Fritz
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 2 of 4 (229 Views)

Re: No option to 'style a point symbol' in AIS

01-30-2014 10:47 PM in reply to: aileen3

Hi Aileen,

 

you can load symbolization via "Select symbol" drop down menu - at the bottom there is "Load..."

 

Did you look for that?

 

By the way - there are two different dialog boxes for basically the same task- to style a point. One dialog box is used when you have a layer with "basic" and the other one is used with "advanced" stylization. "Basic" stylization is not being used anymore - but still supported - in newer versions of Map/MapGuide.

 

Good luck, Rob

 

 

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
New Member
aileen3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-30-2014
Message 3 of 4 (211 Views)

Re: No option to 'style a point symbol' in AIS

02-02-2014 01:39 AM in reply to: Robert_Fritz

Hi Rob, 

 

Thanks for your reply.
I forgot to mention that I have tried loading the symbolization via the "Select symbol" drop down menu where 'Load' shows.
However, I can't find the symbology library that I have created from where I have saved it, so the new symbols cannot be incorporated.
I was thinking it may have been due to using different versions of Autodesk Infrastructure Studio but it seems as though this is not the case. 

 

Valued Mentor
gluckett
Posts: 374
Registered: ‎10-10-2003
Message 4 of 4 (202 Views)

Re: No option to 'style a point symbol' in AIS

02-02-2014 09:34 AM in reply to: aileen3

In Studio,

Tools > Options > Layer Editor

 

You have two options (1) Enhanced (2) Standard.

 

You have to set this before you create a new layer to get the different interface.  The Enhanced  is harder to use for Point symbols and there is no symbol library.

 

If you want to use the old way, set the Option to Standard and re-create the layer from scratch.

 

gordon

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.