Infrastructure Map Server Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Infrastructure Map Server Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Infrastructure Map Server topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MapGuide Enterprise Vs MapGuide Open Source.

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
bsheehy
1623 Views, 2 Replies

MapGuide Enterprise Vs MapGuide Open Source.

Hi there everyone I'm a newbie who needs some help.

My company is looking to do some work using AutoDesk MapGuide and we are not sure whether to use the Enterprise package or the Open source one. We're not overly concerned about the costs of the Enterprise package but are about the functionality particularly at the nitty gritty developers level. We've developed with various other mapping tools in the past e.g. Manifold, MapInfo and all have their particular quirks.

We'd probably want to use a back end database such as SQL Server to store maps/datasets.

1. Has anyone came across any show stoppers or performance issues with either one?

2. How quick do issues or bugs get turned around with the 2 editions?

3. We have to digitise\draw points, line, polygons etc.

4. Serve and view maps online.

Feel free to suggest or ask further questions if you would like.

Thanks 

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
jackie.ng
in reply to: bsheehy

If you're primarily serving vector datasets, you're not going to find much difference in the Open Source and Enterprise versions. If you use raster imagery, then there is a difference. The enteprise version uses an Autodesk built and supported raster provider while the Open Source version uses a GDAL wrapped provider whose performance and reliability is an unknown quantity, though from what I've heard it is doing better in the reliability deparment with recent releases. Other than that, the data support and publishing capabilities of both versions are mostly the same.