Infrastructure Map Server Developer

Reply
Valued Contributor
swimming123
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 1 of 4 (1,063 Views)

Error for single layer size is 1 G

1063 Views, 3 Replies
05-23-2012 01:04 PM

Hi there,

 

When I load shp file which is bigger than several hundreds of MB, I found MapGuide always shows error. What solution for this issue? Thank you.

Valued Mentor
jackie.ng
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎10-06-2008
Message 2 of 4 (1,059 Views)

Re: Error for single layer size is 1 G

05-23-2012 07:55 PM in reply to: swimming123

Are you using Load Procedures? They aren't really meant for loading files of this size.

 

For files of this size you should consider using aliases. Then you just create Feature Sources that point to your aliased SHP files instead.

 

- Jackie

Valued Contributor
swimming123
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 3 of 4 (1,056 Views)

Re: Error for single layer size is 1 G

05-23-2012 09:24 PM in reply to: jackie.ng
What if I load the data to PostGIS first. Then I can create create Feature Source that point to the database?
Valued Mentor
jackie.ng
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎10-06-2008
Message 4 of 4 (1,053 Views)

Re: Error for single layer size is 1 G

05-23-2012 10:32 PM in reply to: swimming123

Sure that works, whatever suits you. I am simply saying loading spatial data with Load Procedures is not suitable for really large files.

 

- Jackie

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community