InfraWorks General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 30 (1,180 Views)
Accepted Solution

non linear projects in Infraworks

1180 Views, 29 Replies
07-26-2013 01:58 PM
I quite like the 3d orbit speed in infraworks so want to use it for visualization. I have an existing ground level dtm with an aerial image draped over which looks great. I have brought in earthworks platforms that have been designed in civil 3d but they take the aerial photo texture and so can't be seen easily.

is it even possible to do this - I have seen a Youtube video showing a dam in China that shows exactly the sort of thing I want to achieve but I have no idea how to do it - any clues gratefully received...:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 30 (1,151 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

07-29-2013 03:29 PM in reply to: neilyj

Do you have a link to that YouTube video?

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 30 (1,147 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

07-29-2013 11:56 PM in reply to: tcorey
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5bJLb9suzJM&list=PLgYKCHjym6mQ9KdNWHesq2dDSnHaj9QQf&index=5
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 30 (1,136 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

07-30-2013 11:51 AM in reply to: neilyj

Neil, if I am reading your OP correctly, you want to bring in your design surfaces from Civil 3D, but you want them to replace the aerial photo rather than have the aerial draped over the new surfaces?

 

If so, you can use Raster Design to remove a polygonal region from the aerial image.You can trace over a surface boundary, for example. Unfortunately, you cannot just pick an object to represent the polygonal region. You have to pick the points one at a time. ;-(

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 30 (1,134 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

07-30-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: neilyj
that is precisely what I am trying to do so thanks for the workaround - perhaps 3ds max is the best way forward?

not sure why such basic functionality is missing from infraworks as this would increase its usability considerably.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Contributor
jjvail
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-11-2007
Message 6 of 30 (1,056 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

08-14-2013 10:40 AM in reply to: neilyj

Any luck on being able to present earthwork impacts on the existing terrain? I am very impressed with ease of Infraworks but if only I can get it to handle multiple terrain surfaces. Thanks

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 7 of 30 (1,054 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

08-14-2013 11:00 AM in reply to: jjvail

To use multiple terrain surfaces, consider placing them in different proposals.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Contributor
jjvail
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-11-2007
Message 8 of 30 (1,052 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

08-14-2013 11:05 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks. Understand that but wish they could be shown together and somehow differentiate them. In Max I can import a cropped EG surface and show the proposed excavations and proposed filling that way. Just curious if the same can be achieved using Infraworks

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 9 of 30 (1,046 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

08-14-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: jjvail

Oh, I see what you're asking. Yes, I would like an easy way to do this as well. If a surface could just have a color assigned would be nice. There is probably a way to do this using image files that are cropped, but I don't have time today. If I get time tomorrow morning, I'll give it another look.

 

Tim

 

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 10 of 30 (1,046 Views)

Re: non linear projects in Infraworks

08-14-2013 07:57 PM in reply to: jjvail

Neil, I found a pretty easy way to do this.

 

Using Civil 3D, extract the border of the smaller/inner surface. Export the resultant 3D polyline as SDF.

 

After importing the two (or more) surfaces into InfraWorks, import that SDF file. Set the type to Coverage Areas and be sure to set it to Drape (Source tab.) Here's an example:

 

Multi-Surfaces in InfraWorks.png.

 

It's not as good as if you could just apply a visual style to a surface, but it's pretty fast and easy.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community