InfraWorks General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 6 (500 Views)
Accepted Solution

Wind farm - Turbines disappearing

500 Views, 5 Replies
09-10-2013 06:12 AM

Still stuggling on with Infraworks for windfarm visuals and have hit another issue:

 

When viewed from a distance all the turbines disappear and only reappear as I zoom nearer to them - is this visibility/invisibility controlled by a setting somewhere?

 

Thanks

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 6 (498 Views)

Re: Wind farm - Turbines disappearing

09-10-2013 06:21 AM in reply to: neilyj

That's pretty typical for complex 3D models.  However, there are some settings to try.  Turn off Ambient Occlusion, turn off realistic water, turn off realistic water and turn on show backfaces.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 6 (495 Views)

Re: Wind farm - Turbines disappearing

09-10-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: TRogers
Thanks for this but it made no difference...:smileysad:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
Contributor
tulio.paz
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 4 of 6 (492 Views)

Re: Wind farm - Turbines disappearing

09-10-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: neilyj

Enable to show the back. :smileywink:

 

Config.jpg

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 6 (452 Views)

Re: Wind farm - Turbines disappearing

09-12-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: neilyj
just browsing through the IW help on my android tablet and came across Level Of Detail which causes features to appear and disappear ( contours in Civil 3D come to mind) so this could be the cause of my issue: I will check when next on the computer
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 6 (422 Views)

Re: Wind farm - Turbines disappearing

09-16-2013 12:23 AM in reply to: neilyj

Turning off LOD for the Turbines seems to have done the trick

 

LOD Off.jpg

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community