InfraWorks General

Reply
Contributor
philip.hon
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Message 1 of 12 (628 Views)

Video fail: Internal error

628 Views, 11 Replies
04-25-2012 09:41 PM

Production of videos leaded occasionally to errors.

1.The video export failed.

   Details: Internal error

 

2. The video export failed.

    Details:

    Internal error: timeout while sending video frame to encoder. Is the disk full?

 

See the pics.

 

This seems to happen randomly. Sometimes its solved by closing some programs and restart AIM.

Today I just start the PC and run AIM for the videoproduction but still got the error.

And no I am not running out of memory. I also cleaned up all temporary files in case there is any saved by AIM.

 

I have about 10 proposals in the model. The quality of video I try to export is wmv, 1920x1024, 30fps, 8000kbit/s.

If I instead use 1024x768 it mostly works.

 

Would be glad for any tips and help.  

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 2 of 12 (626 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

04-25-2012 11:50 PM in reply to: philip.hon

This seems to be an issue with the WMV video encoder codec. Can you try another output format or use an "uncompressed" format and encode it to your desired format with an additional tool? E.g., XMediaEncoder is very handy for such reencoding tasks...

Contributor
philip.hon
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Message 3 of 12 (625 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

04-26-2012 12:02 AM in reply to: philip.hon

Forgot to mention that i tried every format (uncompressed, DVD.....) when the video failed. And it stops at 0%. Sometime after 99% but mostly at the beginning.

 

I am testing deleting some scenes, proposals and so on. It seems to make the model faster and less errors while making video.

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 4 of 12 (613 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

04-27-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: philip.hon

Maybe your scene is very complex and needs a long time to render a single HD frame? This might trigger an internal time-out which exists to ensure detection of infinite loops in the video compressor (which is outside of our control). So maybe we need to set this time-out to a larger number...

 

What kind of system are you using? CPU, GPU, memory?

 

Did you also enable "anti aliasing" and/or "ambient occlusion" during the video export? If so, try to reduce the values there or disable them completely...

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 5 of 12 (587 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

05-15-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

Is this issue solved for you now?

Contributor
philip.hon
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Message 6 of 12 (580 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

05-15-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: philip.hon

Since I halved the propasals from 18 to 9, the error message seems to be gone.

And yes, I enabled all the enhancements (antialiasing,8x ambient, sun animation) to achieve the best quality of video for the project. There is not a choice to lower the quality. Unfortunately, if so is the case the project will rather be done in another software.

 

If the internal time-out limit exist, I surely reach it seems I making high quality video with details. But the length is around 2min. It doesnt seems not long for me but still it takes around 15-20min for making one video. Is this normal? 

 

For interest, the computer system is:

i7 2GHz

Quadro 2000m

Ram 16GB

Win7 64 bit

 

Thanks for followig up my case :smileyhappy:

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 7 of 12 (576 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

05-16-2012 12:19 AM in reply to: philip.hon

Since you mentioned proposals: could you try to press the "F6" key after switching proposals and before recording the animation. Background info: after you switched a proposal some model regeneration takes place; if that regen is not finished when you start recording the recording takes longer then usually expected, since it needs to wait for the model regen first, and then you might be running into the mentioned time-outs. For the next release we will increase those time-out values and also ensure that the model regen is up-to-date before starting the actual recording session.

 

And surely, you should not need to reduce the quality settings to produce the output animation. I only asked about those settings in order to track down the issues you have with the recording...

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 12 (518 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

09-10-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: philip.hon

I'm receiving the exact same messages when trying to export a video. The only things in my model is a DEM, a GeoTIF, and three 3D models of sports complexes in the Denver area. I've turned off shadows, ambiant occlusion is off, antialiasing is off, 25 frames/sec, uncompressed, etc. 

 

If you would like, I can share my model with you so you can test it out yourself.

 

Message: http://screencast.com/t/jVA45ASu1c

Export Settings: http://screencast.com/t/qRpLnZvGb

 

p.s. Pressing F5 and/or F6 didn't help in my case.

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 9 of 12 (514 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

09-10-2012 08:38 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

We identified the issue in the meantime and will provide a fix for this in the next product release.

 

Thanks for reporting and sorry for the inconvenience!

 

And as a workaround until that: try pressing the "F6" key right before you open the dialog for starting recording of the animation.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 10 of 12 (508 Views)

Re: Video fail: Internal error

09-10-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

Don't know what I did differently but it seems to be working now.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community