InfraWorks General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 8 (1,135 Views)

Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

1135 Views, 7 Replies
08-29-2012 08:24 PM

So, I followed the steps HERE to bring in sketchup buildings into myAIM model but the problem I'm having is the image that is a part of the sketchup file is coming in as well. If I go into 3DS Max and remove the image, the fbx file still has the image and I'm not sure how to get rid of it. Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 8 (1,132 Views)

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

08-29-2012 08:39 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Aha! I figured it out! All by myself! And I'm not telling!

 

 

Ok, I'll tell. What I did was to erase the image out of 3DS Max Design, and then, instead of using the Export command, I selected the objects in the model and chose Export Selected. Worked BEAUTIFULLY! http://screencast.com/t/sEQZq5Kl 

Distinguished Contributor
lholland
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 3 of 8 (1,110 Views)

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-02-2012 08:55 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

If there were a AIM wishes page, I'd add a wish to import a SKP directly. 

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 8 (1,108 Views)

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-02-2012 09:04 PM in reply to: lholland

Fortunately, most people that will be using AIM have the Infrastructure Design Suite so they have 3DS Max as well. There is a plug in available in the AutoCAD Exchange that will import a Sketchup file directly into AutoCAD but I was having odd results with that. The 3DS Max route seems to work best for me.

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 5 of 8 (1,104 Views)

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-03-2012 01:52 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

And you should be able to "send-to your current 3D model" from 3ds max directly to AIM:

  1. open your AIM model you want the 3d model imported into
  2. select the 3D model in 3ds max you want to send-to AIM
  3. select the 3ds max application icon at the top left and then select "send-to AIM"...
  4. the model should then appear "magically" in AIM, where you can configure it and place it interactively
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 8 (1,100 Views)

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-03-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

That worked really slick. I'll have to try it again with the file with the image and see if I have the same issues (I'm assuming I will because it probably just automates the export everything to fbx command).

Active Member
sconrad77
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-19-2010
Message 7 of 8 (126 Views)

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

05-28-2014 02:46 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

You can open .skp files using Sketchup Make (Free download) and export to Collada .dae or Autodesk .fbx.  These files work great in Infraworks, just import into the Style Pallet.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 8 (118 Views)

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

05-28-2014 03:52 PM in reply to: sconrad77

Honestly, I just downloaded Sketchup and use that to convert them to the collada file format now.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community