InfraWorks General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-05-2007
Message 1 of 3 (304 Views)

Hardware for IM

304 Views, 2 Replies
02-12-2012 06:07 AM

I just got my new workstation up, and kicking!

IM is so effective in useing hardware I´m serious impressed.

 

2x240gb Kingston SSD´s, lots of ram/3gb GTX 580, and a I7-2700k at 4.9 GHz is makeing a joy out of even the Wellington 1m data, with roads everything

 

The SSD thing is most important, even if hurts in the wallet ha ha.

I´m so facinated by this software, it´s very adaptive to huge datasets if hardware enough, I used Cityscape a lot, and IM is holding up just fine..

 

I miss driveing a car though :smileywink:, it is very useful for line of sight testing.

 

Employee
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 2 of 3 (276 Views)

Re: Hardware for IM

02-13-2012 10:40 AM in reply to: knurrebusk

Great feedback!  Really important to know what kind of hardware is working for folks.

Chris 

Senior Product/Product Line Manger
Media and Entertainment Cloud Services
Autodesk
Active Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-05-2007
Message 3 of 3 (262 Views)

Re: Hardware for IM

02-17-2012 10:03 AM in reply to: cjandrews22

I made one mistake with the SSD´s!, installed it all in IDE mode, confident I could fix AHCI mode later, via regedit etc, or bootcommands.

 

Nope!!, bluescreen whatever I did when enabled it, so 3 more days of installing Os etc, I´m back to what I wanted finally.

It´s not the speed, it´s the handeling of many small files ver large files so on, and many other stuff I needed.

 

Raid is not needed if lot´s ram, so very happy with 1 for OS/programfiles, 1 for users/documents.

 

This I forgot to post on the wall when was impatient to use my old IDE OS.

 

So take Care when leave your IDE Life behind.

 

Originally Posted by Intel
Warning Enabling AHCI or RAID after installing the operating system is not recommended or supported when a Serial ATA hard drive is the boot drive. Enabling AHCI or RAID after installing the operating system may cause an immediate blue screen with an 0x0000007b error code, followed by a reboot. If you wish to use AHCI or RAID, they should be enabled before installing the operating system.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community