Community
InfraWorks Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s InfraWorks Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular InfraWorks topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Civil3D to InfraWorks exporting questions

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
karl1112
2239 Views, 5 Replies

Civil3D to InfraWorks exporting questions

We are trying to use InfraWorks to "generate" 3D Models for use in renderings (exporting to FBX). I have some alignments and profiles created in Civil3D (2014) (very very basic, no surfaces or regions or profiles - just lalignments and profiles) and am trying to bring these alignments and corresponding profiles into InfraWorks to generate the street geometry.

I am an absolute beginner in Civil3D - learned from youtube and a couple of books for older versions we had around the office.

The problem I'm encountering (outside Civil3D crashing 80% of the time I hit the "Export IMX" button) is that not all the profiles get exported ... I get all the alignments without problem but only 2 profiles (out of the 4 that exist so far). Does anyone know if there is some "magic" I did with the 2 profiles that work?

On a related note... is there anyway to provide some data to an alignment in Civil 3D that can be used for picking the "Rule Style" in Infraworks, everything comes in as the generic road and needs to be manually re-applied in Infraworks.

I'm not at a place in my knowledge to create full feature corridors and intersections in Civil and honestly don't have the time for this project - nor am I a Civil Engineer to do it authoritatively - we are really just doing this to export from Infraworks since its model generation for roads is good enough for presentation material...

I welcome any advice or suggestions....

Thanks

Tags (3)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
ToddRogers-WPM
in reply to: karl1112