InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
New Member
slezacek
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 1 of 8 (778 Views)

WMS Server

778 Views, 7 Replies
04-16-2012 12:50 AM

Hello, I would like  conect to WMS from IM. Is it possible ?

Thank you. Filip 

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 2 of 8 (776 Views)

Re: WMS Server

04-16-2012 01:46 AM in reply to: slezacek

Since we are using GDAL (1.8.x) for raster data input, this page might help you to setup the required XML description file for describing the corresponding WMS server: http://www.gdal.org/frmt_wms.html

 

If you need more support you could also post some more infos about the WMS you want to access and we can try to figure out, which paramaters to set in the required GDAL-XML file...

New Member
slezacek
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 3 of 8 (763 Views)

Re: WMS Server

04-17-2012 02:28 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

Hello Konstantin,

thank you for your answer. Can you help me with this url ? : http://wms.cuzk.cz/wms.asp

Thank you. Filip

 

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 4 of 8 (756 Views)

Re: WMS Server

04-17-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: slezacek

Since the call to:

 

http://services.cuzk.cz/wms/wms.asp?SERVICE=WMS&VERSION=1.1.1&REQUEST=GetCapabilities

 

does not return a XML specification of this service, I don't know how to get to the required elements for the GDAL XML file.

 

This sample request demonstrates an expected and usable XML server reply:

 

http://demo.mapserver.org/cgi-bin/wms?SERVICE=WMS&VERSION=1.1.1&REQUEST=GetCapabilities

 

Maybe you can check for the bbox of the service in LL84 and also figure out the ground pixel resolution of the highest resolution layer?

Contributor
edward.winter
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-03-2008
Message 5 of 8 (265 Views)

Re: WMS Server

03-31-2014 03:05 AM in reply to: slezacek
Hi, I want to connect with below wms service. Can you check if this service respond well? And if so, how do I connect to it within InfraWorks R2 (or 360 R4)? http://geodata1.nationaalgeoregister.nl/luchtfoto/wms?request=GetCapabilities Thanks, Kind regards, Edward Winter
Contributor
John.DeLeeuw
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-01-2014
Message 6 of 8 (260 Views)

Re: WMS Server

03-31-2014 03:18 AM in reply to: edward.winter

Hi Edward, have you read through this post?

 

Regards,

John

Contributor
edward.winter
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-03-2008
Message 7 of 8 (255 Views)

Re: WMS Server

03-31-2014 03:24 AM in reply to: John.DeLeeuw

Hi John,

 

Thanks for the quick respond.

I just saw your post right in another Google search.

Going to look in to it.

Just gave that post a kudo.

 

Regards,

 

Edward

Contributor
edward.winter
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-03-2008
Message 8 of 8 (200 Views)

Re: WMS Server

04-17-2014 12:15 AM in reply to: John.DeLeeuw

John,

 

Initially I could not solve it by your example in the first place. Getting errors all the time. 

So I started to research and explore the GDAL WMS from scratch by my self. And that's always the best thing you should do by the way.

 

I've started with to get an image from a Web Map Service url. That's where I figured out the image scaling.

Then I tried to create a World File to associate with. Ended successfully.

And by going that way and using below description of the GDAL WMS I finally figured out how I should built the GDAL XML.

 

http://www.gdal.org/frmt_wms.html

 

What also helped me to solve this, is that I could use InfraWorks beta debug screen to detect the errors.

 

Looking back to your example, your explanation is correct, but misses to my opinion some important details.

Scaling the image is the most important one.

 

I'll write about it in a blog soon.

 

Regards,

 

Edward

http://C3Dpeanuts.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community