InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Member
dave.sharp
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-07-2007
Message 1 of 4 (317 Views)

AIM wont start

317 Views, 3 Replies
05-26-2012 09:54 PM

Have downloaded Autocad Infrastrucuture Modeller 30 day trial. 64 bit version.

 

Running Windows 7 Professional

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz   3.70GHz

RAM    8.00Gb

64 bit O.S.

 

Have tried starting the programme from both the desktop icon and using 'Run'  AIM.exe.  However nothing happens.

Just get the wait symbol for a few seconds and then it disappears.

 

On checking the directory c:\Program Files\Autodesk  the programme appears to be all there.  866Mb 3575 Files, 28 Folders.

Probably a very basic thing I have done wrong but I am at a loss as to what.

 

I use Autocad 2013 for my work and am seeing if it is worth moving into 3d land development work, hence the download.

 

Any help would be much appreciated.

`

 

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 2 of 4 (297 Views)

Re: AIM wont start

05-29-2012 12:21 AM in reply to: dave.sharp

I would suggest these 2 items as a starter:

  1. Check for the most recent graphics card drivers of your graphics card vendor. Which gfx card are you using, BTW?
  2. Try to reinstall AIM
Member
dave.sharp
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-07-2007
Message 3 of 4 (286 Views)

Re: AIM wont start

05-31-2012 01:17 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

Graphics card is NVIDIA Quadro FX1700 with the latest driver installed.

 

I think if I try reinstalling the programme it will be rejected.  I had this problem some years ago with another trial

of Inventor.

 

Tomorrow I am taking the computer into the agents and thay are going to try to sort it.

 

Thank you for your suggestions.

Member
dave.sharp
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-07-2007
Message 4 of 4 (258 Views)

Re: AIM wont start

06-17-2012 01:59 PM in reply to: dave.sharp

Further to the problem of AIM not booting.

 

I returned the computer to the service department of the company I purchased it from.  The technician said he had received other computers with similar problems using autodesk products.  Not AIM specifically.  He put the cause of the problem down to the register being affected by uninstalling/installing autodesk products.

 

The history of this computer, relating to Autodesk products is;

Purchased computer October 2011 and Installed autocad 2012.

Early May 2012.  Installed Autocad 2013.

Late May 2012, downloaded and installed AIM, which would not boot up.  Took computer to AEC (Autodesk agent)

who uninstalled AIM and reinstalled from a memory stick.

AIM still would not boot.

 

From the above, it will be seen that Autodesk products have only been installed twice, so I do not understand why I had to have the operating system (Windows 7) reinstalled to 'clean up the registry'

 

Having reinstalled the operating system I am now trialling AIM successfully.

 

I would be interested if Autodek have anything to contribute as to why I had to unisntall/reinstall the operating system.

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community