Impression

Reply
Active Contributor
gwunz
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-30-2008
Message 1 of 12 (5,384 Views)

Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be imported

5384 Views, 11 Replies
07-02-2010 09:07 AM

 

I am attempting to import an autocad drawing into impression.  I have applied the Windows 7 hotfix so the program doesnt crash when attempting to import, it just attempts the import, gets to a certain percentage, and then gives me the error.  I have tried the import on a drawing that worked before upgrading to Windows 7 and same error.  I have attempted to adjust all my import settings as well.  This did not work either.  The only thing that seems to work is if i detach all my xrefs.  any ideas?

rob
New Member
rob
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-22-2010
Message 2 of 12 (5,059 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

10-22-2010 12:47 PM in reply to: gwunz

Try saving the file as a completely different file name...ie. 1.dwg...it worked on mine...i think it gets confused if you use the same file name multiple times.

Contributor
faugustom
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 3 of 12 (5,033 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

10-26-2010 07:07 PM in reply to: gwunz

I'm having the same issue with AutoCAD Architecture 2008, Impression 3 and Windows 7.

Renaming the files doesn't solve the problem...

If I create a new file and draw lines, arcs, polylines... and import it into Impression, OK... but if I insert a single block, the import doesn't work anymore...

Active Contributor
gwunz
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-30-2008
Message 4 of 12 (5,026 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

10-27-2010 03:10 AM in reply to: faugustom

The only way I was able to get it to work was by importing on an xp machine.  Once I had it imported, I was then able to open it up on a W7 PC.  Not that this helps you, but it was the only workaround I had.

Valued Contributor
Tudor_Timotin
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎08-30-2005
Message 5 of 12 (4,981 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

11-02-2010 10:59 AM in reply to: gwunz

Hi everyone,

 

I've been battling with the same issue - "file is invalid" when trying to import it in Impression and I think I might have found at least one reason for which it comes up (at least in my case). After a lot of trial and error testing - exploding blocks, moving them on different layers, changing the layer names, merging layers - I narrowed it down to the color of one layer - it wasn't in one of the 255 classic Autocad colors, but in true color. Once I changed that to the basic Acad index color it worked like a charm.

 

Hope it helps someone,

 

I'm using W7 64bit and the export came from Acad 2010

 

Take care,

 

Tudor

Contributor
faugustom
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 6 of 12 (4,954 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

11-04-2010 04:54 PM in reply to: gwunz

That's It! Worked here with "Classic" colors... creating a new .std file right now to convert my drawings!

 

Thank's

New Member
robinsonhall
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2010
Message 7 of 12 (4,747 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

12-21-2010 09:18 AM in reply to: gwunz

Other than the 'fix' below (which doesn't seem to work for me), has anyone found a consistent way to import drawings into Impression 3 on 64bit Windows 7?

 

Seems ridiculous that with a brand new top-spec machine in our office, I'm still having to turn to others to load drawings before I can access them!

 

I've tried resetting layer colours as suggested to no avail. Even if it did work for me, its creating a lot of un-necessary workload.

 

Any patch forthcoming from AutoDesk to fix this issue?

Active Member
ziegler
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 8 of 12 (4,140 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

03-14-2011 01:06 AM in reply to: robinsonhall

I have the same Problem with Impression 3 importing dwg files from Autocad. Neither color nor rxref trick work here.

 

Win 7 / 64 Bit / ACAD 2010 / Impression 3 / patch applied.

 

Best regards.

 

 

 

New Member
robinsonhall
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2010
Message 9 of 12 (4,138 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

03-14-2011 01:50 AM in reply to: gwunz

If its any use, the only advice AutoDesk could offer me via a support ticket request was to save the drawing as a DWF, then import that into Impression.

 

It works - not ideal - but it work.

Active Member
ziegler
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 10 of 12 (4,129 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

03-14-2011 06:26 AM in reply to: robinsonhall

Thanks for your reply, I will try with dwf.

 

Best regards

 

Alexander Ziegler

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community