Impression

Reply
Active Contributor
makovich
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 1 of 5 (1,799 Views)

Importing from Revit

1799 Views, 4 Replies
10-19-2011 12:28 PM

I do not know how many of you have tried to import a view from Revit into Impression to touch it up, but it seems to be a good option for a different type of graphic representation.

 

It took me a couple of hours to make it work, but this is how you can do it.

 

  1. Prepare the view in Revit and export it to autocad (.DWG) with the "export views on sheets as external references" checkbox unchecked.
  2. Open it in Autocad and set up the 3D view again and save the view.
  3. Create a Layout and set the model view in the layout to the saved 3D view.
  4. Save the drawing again with the new layout and the 3D view you want.
  5. Import the drawing into impression and select the correct layout and viewport option.
  6. Wait for Impression to import the drawing.

Depending on your machine it might take a while to import.

It seems the import operation actually renders the 3d view into a hidden line 2d view ready for Impression, so it´s a fairly complex operation.

 

 If somebody has a better process to import views into impression let us know.

 

I hope this helps people like me who are just starting with a Revit - Impression workflow.

 

Cheers all, 

Contributor
jmqrsq
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 2 of 5 (1,774 Views)

Re: Importing from Revit

10-31-2011 10:38 AM in reply to: makovich

just starting to look at Impression 3. So a dwf isnt the best way to export from Revit to impression?

Active Contributor
makovich
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 3 of 5 (1,770 Views)

Re: Importing from Revit

10-31-2011 04:13 PM in reply to: makovich
I tried a dxf first but it generated a 3d file with No defined view.
I have not tried a dwf. I'm not sure how it will work.
I'll give it a try late and let you know.

Cheers,
Max.
Contributor
jmqrsq
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 4 of 5 (1,764 Views)

Re: Importing from Revit

11-01-2011 05:38 AM in reply to: makovich

i appreciate it. are all th eissues with windows 7 now fixed with the hotfix then?

Active Contributor
makovich
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 5 of 5 (1,740 Views)

Re: Importing from Revit

11-16-2011 11:13 AM in reply to: jmqrsq

I don't know if all the issues with W7 were fixedwith the patch.

The main issue with W7 seemed to be it crashed when you tried to save your work. With the patch it doesn't happen anymore.

I have been using it for a couple of months now in W7 64bit and seems stable to me.

 

I hope this info helps you.

 

Cheers,

 

Max V.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community