Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sketch Dimension is always an angle, I want a distance

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
bentwookie
4141 Views, 8 Replies

Sketch Dimension is always an angle, I want a distance

Howdy. I'm a big noob so hopefully this is something dumb I'm doing and not just a bug.

I have a sketch with a big rectangle which contains a smaller rectangle. I'm trying to specify a distance between A and B (in red). I can do this on other parts of the drawing, but in this instance, it always wants to declare an angle. 

I create this dimension by clicking on A, then B and dragging north-east. I've done it this way before and created a distance dimension. What's different about this case?

wut2.jpg

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
SallyYang
in reply to: bentwookie

Thanks for posting the issue.

Would you please check if the two sketch lines parallel with each other? You can add sketch constraint to make them parallel first then adding dimension will get a distance value.

You can change the "Angular precision" in Preference dialog, then you can see whether the angle is real "0" or not between line A and B.

preferences (2).png

Regards,
Sally

Sally Yang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Message 3 of 9
bentwookie
in reply to: SallyYang

Intresting. So I added parallel constraints to the two lines and tried to add the dimension. It worked! I then undid the constraints and changed my precision in the preferences. I added the dimension again and expected to see something like .0001, but instead it just worked again!

Sounds like a bug. 

Message 4 of 9
bentwookie