Reply
Contributor
jeffwaldosand
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
Accepted Solution

IGES Import

445 Views, 10 Replies
04-01-2013 04:37 PM

Does Fusion allow importation of IGES or step as Forge did?

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
rishivadher
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: IGES Import

04-01-2013 07:58 PM in reply to: jeffwaldosand

yes

rishivadher
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
cekuhnen
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎07-26-2012

Re: IGES Import

04-01-2013 10:30 PM in reply to: rishivadher

how ??? I do not see the import option in 360!

Please use plain text.
Employee
garin
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-13-2006

Re: IGES Import

04-01-2013 11:21 PM in reply to: cekuhnen
You can Drag & Drop it in a project while in the dashboard. Once you drop it on the dashboard it will start translating it to a format Fusion can open and will let you open it shortly.

It isn't the most discoverable workflow at the moment although we will be addressing this in a future update to the dashboard.
Please use plain text.
Employee
ToniQin
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2008

Re: IGES Import

04-11-2013 02:48 PM in reply to: garin

What is dashboard? The folder under my-first-project? I tried, I can see the "+" icon which seems I can drop my IGES. However, nothing happens. I assume import a CATIA 5 file works the same way but that doesn't work either.

 

I also created an empty file and drag-drop the IGES file to the view and it was not allowed (with a can't icon).

 

I then searched word "dashboard" and get empty result.

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
innovatenate
Posts: 630
Registered: ‎11-22-2011

Re: IGES Import

04-11-2013 04:14 PM in reply to: ToniQin

Check out item 4 in this post. There's a screenshot of what it looks like when dragging and dropping files into the dashboard.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Getting-Started/Fusion-360-FAQs/td-p/3848772

 

I also made a quick video showing me importing a smaller IGES file. Keep in mind that a larger file may take longer to process.

 

http://screencast.com/t/B3vR4YprVS

 

Hope this helps!

 

 



Nathan Chandler


Please use plain text.
Employee
ToniQin
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2008

Re: IGES Import

04-12-2013 06:11 AM in reply to: innovatenate

I found it is important to drag-and-drop to the area of the list so to make the list dark shaded. If the mouse is on the empty area of the dashboard, nothing happens.

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
cekuhnen
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎07-26-2012

Re: IGES Import

04-12-2013 09:24 AM in reply to: ToniQin

The import drag area is very touchy sometimes moving the mouse a little is making the drop area highlight go away.

 

It looks like the code that drives the mouse over evaluation has issues or reacts to interface elements like text below

the mouse courser.

 

Maybe just have a general area instead ?!

Please use plain text.
Employee
garin
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-13-2006

Re: IGES Import

04-16-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: cekuhnen

We realize it is tricky sometimes to get the Drag/Drop to work correctly. We are working on updating this to make it more discoverable and less picky in an update to the dashboard that we will be rolling out. 

Please use plain text.
Member
erhard.ehrke
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

Re: IGES Import

05-14-2013 12:19 AM in reply to: innovatenate

Hi,

 

importing into the project is straight forward - but how can I assemble modelled and imported parts similar to the work flow in Inventoir Fusion?

 

Example: create a pulley, download a bearing from SKF as DWG and use it in Fusion as part of an assembly.

 

Extruding complicated profiles e.g. is easier to do in AutoCAD and subsequently use them in Fusion assemblies would be more than useful. 

 

Once the assembly is complete, it can be translated to SAT, imported into AutoCAD, saved as DWG and processed for renderings e.g.

 

Can this be done?

Please use plain text.