Reply
Active Member
fsamir
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-22-2013

How to use Scripts /Python with Fusion 360?

388 Views, 3 Replies
08-19-2013 09:19 PM

Hi there,

 

in the menu there is an option to run a script and a found out in some other forum posts that some autodesk products have support to Python scripts. However, I couldn't find anything in the docs.

Can someone shed some light on this?

 

 

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 661
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: How to use Scripts /Python with Fusion 360?

08-20-2013 09:12 AM in reply to: fsamir
Scripting is still in its early stages. We plan of more full support in December.
What would you like to use scripting for?

Do you have some examples of other products you like?

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
Active Member
fsamir
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-22-2013

Re: How to use Scripts /Python with Fusion 360?

08-20-2013 04:46 PM in reply to: schneik

Hi Kevin,

 

I would like to have access to basic CAD operations, like extrude, cut, join, etc in such a way that I can automate the construction basic shapes, like a box, for example.

 

 

Something similar to the scripting available in Freecad:
https://gist.github.com/thehans/1361643

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:13655

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
bmdesign
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: How to use Scripts /Python with Fusion 360?

08-21-2013 05:40 AM in reply to: fsamir

I would like to be able to construct whole tracks from our track editor, mainly for Sim 360 simulations.

 

This can also be done by simply writing out a file format compatible with Fusion 360. Maybe the OpenSCAD is the best route? (could also work for fsamir).

Asko Kauppi

IT guy into Cleantech. Aiming to bridge public transport to 21st century solutions.
Please use plain text.