Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difficulty with expanding portion of design

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
N4n45h1
1022 Views, 13 Replies

Difficulty with expanding portion of design

I'm looking for some direction to follow to modify an existing design. I am trying to thicken left and right walls in order to make the inner section narrower. However, none of my attempts have been successful. I am not looking for learning materials for CAD, but rather a solution to this specific problem. I am not experienced in CAD but simply need to solve this one problem in order to move forward.

**I already posted this here http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-General/Difficulty-with-expanding-portion-of-design/td-p/4695..., but was advised to post here for more specific support.**

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
rishivadher
in reply to: N4n45h1

Message 3 of 14
N4n45h1
in reply to: rishivadher

Thank you for modifying the file, but unfortunately you did change the wrong two sides.  The sides we are having problems with are the ones I have highlighted in the attached image.

Do you know how to modify these?

Message 4 of 14
rishivadher

Ok sorry for the mistake,
what I did was two body’s (each for a wall) and joint then to have one unique solid,
best's

Message 5 of 14
N4n45h1

I'm having some difficulty understanding the steps behind what you did. We're looking for the opposite effect, where it gets much narrower as opposed to wider when you go through the opening. I created bodies, but I'm confused as to how you used the joint function to finish the process.
Message 6 of 14
rishivadher