Hardware (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are the Laptop recommendations for 3d & rendering?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
362 Views, 7 Replies

What are the Laptop recommendations for 3d & rendering?

I have been using Autocad in the work environment for about 7 years, and ADT for 2 years. I have never owned a computer, but I want to purchase a laptop system to use at home. I have read many of the questions (and answers to them) in this forum, and I am a little fuzzy as to what my system should consist of. My main use for it will be Autocad ADT (2005, soon to be 2006), and Autocad Viz Render. Regeneration speed (i.e. panning, orbiting, switching between orthographic and isometric views) is important to me, and what I gleam from the forum is that the hard drive needs to have 1GB or more of RAM. In addition, a good graphics card would be recommended for a good workflow of the drawing. What are the recommended card sizes (128Mb) and manufacturers (Quadro, Radeon, GeForce) of the open GL cards for a laptop?

I would appreciate any input. I currently do not have a single laptop manufacture in mind, which I realize opens me up to allot of opinions in this forum (so bring them on). I am budgeting approximately $2,000 to this venture, which could change to be more depending on the response. So thanks in advance.
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

The first question is why a Laptop?
That's a huge load to put on a system usually designed to check e-mail.
There is a new class of Laptop out there called mobile workstations that you may be able to cram enough ram into that rendering might not be horrible.But I am not aware of any dual processor systems.
Be prepared to pay through the nose for a Laptop that "might" fill your needs.

John Postlewait
IS Department
George Butler Associates, Inc.
Message 3 of 8
low man on totem poll