Hardware (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is an upgrade in computer just ice in winter?

18 REPLIES 18
Message 1 of 19
justdrawinglines
1195 Views, 18 Replies

Is an upgrade in computer just ice in winter?

I am considering buying a new desktop.  I'm just trying to determine if there will be an appreciable difference for the $$$ spent.  I am a sole proprietor architect, using ACA 2011.  In addition to my own work, I also work for other architects via a VPN.  Things move rather slowly and I usually freeze at least 2x a day.  I did max out the memory, and upgraded my graphics card.  My system is going on 7 years old, and I honestly can't complain about it until I went from 2008 to 2011....  Below are the specs for my current Dell Dimension 8300.  Please understand that I don't understand what all of this means (only enough to be dangerous).

My current desktop is a Dell Dimension 8300, Intel Pentium 4 processor at 3.0 GHz 2.0 GB RAM, 1024MB DDR SDRAM at 400 MHz, Radeon HD4650 AGP8x 1GB DDR2 Memory, 120 GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200 RPM)

Does anyone have any suggestions for a new system that would make a big difference without going crazy with the price?  I was looking at a Dell Precision T7500, Win 7 64 bit, Quad Core Intel Xeon E5507 2.26GHz 4M L3 4.8GT/s, 4GB DDR3 RDIMM memory 1333MHz ECC 4 DIMMS, 256MB ATI Fire MV 2260 2MON 2 DP w/ 2 DP to DVI Adapter, 500gb SATA 3.0Gb/s w/ NCQ and 16MB DataBurst Cache

Any help is appreciated!

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
omc-usnr
in reply to: justdrawinglines

What was the cost on that system?  Do you have 2 monitors already?  What plotter are you using?

I'd make sure you get the Win7 64 Pro (not the home).  You may need to look for some vista drivers for you plotter and older hardware.  The Pro version allows better networking, and has the xp emulation mode if you have older software.