Hardware (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Me PLEASE. I need help and advice for AutoCad Workstation Build.

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
jstarnes74
612 Views, 2 Replies

Help Me PLEASE. I need help and advice for AutoCad Workstation Build.

Im in desperate need of help on configuring a workstation for AutoCad.

I need two types:

1 for our 2 project engineers and 15 for our other cad users.

The Project Eng's wanted a higher end wks and they have a budget of $2,000.00 $2,500.00 for each workstation.

The Cad users just need a good reliable and mostly fast workstation and they have a budget of $1,000.00-$2,000.00

Mainly 2d but some 3d is used. There file sizes are large and are based or stored on a server and sometimes locally on the users workstation. Please Help Im looking at Xi, Boxx, Dell, and HP.

I fell into this IT position here and im learning quick but i have no experience in AutoCad WKS builds and to make matters worse they r in a rush and my bum is on the hot seat so to speak.

Please Help I need someone who knows what they are talking about to config or help me config a WKS  so I wont get over charged. Thank you if you decide to help and if u dont i do understand and I am still grateful.

Regards, J

Ps: attached are two quotes from XI

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
ndirkson
in reply to: jstarnes74

I'm no certified IT guy, but your quote seems a little high, if it were me I would probably look up "Dell Precision T5500" on ebay.

Message 3 of 3
mailbox
in reply to: jstarnes74

Its a tricky one. The budget you have been given will cover you for a machine that will do everything needed to run CAD and more. The quotes will be more than fine to run CAD in 2D and 3D. I would however get more RAM though (16gb) or make sure you have enough slots for expansion.