Hardware

Reply
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 1 of 7 (129 Views)

64 bit Autocad on an Athlon 64 cpu on a windows XP (32 bit version?) ?

129 Views, 6 Replies
11-04-2011 05:25 AM

 

 I'm running standard windows XP SP3 on my Asus motherboard which has an Athlon 64 processor.

 

 I can buy a second hand copy of Autocad 2010 64 bit pretty cheap. Will it run on my machine? Or do I need a 64 bit OS first?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,220
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: 64 bit Autocad on an Athlon 64 cpu on a windows XP (32 bit version?) ?

11-04-2011 06:09 AM in reply to: abrogard

No, 64bit will not install on 32bit OS, and vice-versa.

 

AND.... AutoCAD is not sold in only 32bit or 64bit, you get both free and at the same time if your source is legit: sounds like you are going to lose your shirt, enjoy those savings for 30days.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,798
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 7 (124 Views)

Re: 64 bit Autocad on an Athlon 64 cpu on a windows XP (32 bit version?) ?

11-04-2011 07:16 AM in reply to: pendean

its probably not a legal copy

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,515
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 7 (118 Views)

Re: 64 bit Autocad on an Athlon 64 cpu on a windows XP (32 bit version?) ?

11-04-2011 01:31 PM in reply to: abrogard

Agreed.  You cannot buy a "second hand" copy because the license is non-transferrable.  You will be left with a trial version that will expire and never activate.  Only buy from certified Value-Added Resellers.

 

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 5 of 7 (112 Views)

Re: 64 bit Autocad on an Athlon 64 cpu on a windows XP (32 bit version?) ?

11-05-2011 03:41 AM in reply to: abrogard

 

 Oh, okay, thanks for all that.  It is supposed to be from a deceased estate - the widow doesn't want any of this stuff. You mean I wouldn't be able to activate it if I got it because I'm a different person or because I've got a different machine - with that stuff about licence not transferable?

 

 There's no pressure. I don't need it. I use - no, I don't use - I have the 2008 version and I've never learned to use it.

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 6 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: 64 bit Autocad on an Athlon 64 cpu on a windows XP (32 bit version?) ?

11-05-2011 04:34 PM in reply to: abrogard

Well, sorta.

 

The lisencse is transferable......under certain circumstances, and for a fee.  In my case, the boss closed the office, and working through our reseller (Delta Engineering) we were able to transfer the lisencse into my name for $350.  It has to do with a transfer of assets if a company divests or splits.  I, then have become responsible for maintaining the subscription.  In the case of a death, I'm not sure the survivors can transfer the lisencse.

 

For the other part of your question, you'll need to have a 64 bit OS before a 64 bit version of acad will work.  So, your choices are XP 64 (NOT recommended at all) Vista 64 (not really that good a choice), and Win 7 64 (not a home version) as the currrent supported OS.  If you're still running XP, it's time to do this anyway.

 

Reid

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 7 of 7 (105 Views)

Re: 64 bit Autocad on an Athlon 64 cpu on a windows XP (32 bit version?) ?

11-06-2011 01:36 AM in reply to: OMCUSNR

 

Not worth my while bothering, is it? what they're selling me they can't sell... it's worthless to me...

 

The lady will be interested to hear all this.  Sadder but wiser, she'll be.

 

:smileyhappy:

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community