Discussion Groups

Get Help with Fusion 360

Reply
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Accepted Solution

Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

374 Views, 23 Replies
07-20-2013 10:40 AM

Hi There,

 

Trying to get to grips with the new gold F360.

 

I know where the export to stl was in teh beta, but cant seem to find it in the new release.

 

Where should it be?

 

Is it dynamic, as in if the object is still form of mesh instead of a true solid, will it not appear etc?

 

Thanks,

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 10:48 AM in reply to: big_red_frog
Yes a Tspline body does need to be converted to export it to STL. Once you have a solid, you can right mouse click in the browser and choose export to stl. You now can preview and adjust the resolution of the stl file produced.

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 11:14 AM in reply to: schneik

I have got a little further and unfortunately still need some advice.

 

I have what I believe is a watertight mesh after manipulating the original mesh object, it looks water tight, and the properties are as per attached. Which implies it is.

 

Now I try a convert, and I get an error as per attached failureToConvert.png.

 

Now if only I knew what box mode was.

 

I try repair body and I get lots of markers for "Geometry labels", but I see no markers for "error labels"

 

I have tried auto repair once and I couldnt see it did anything.

 

What is "box mode" and how do I review in it.

 

Are there any wiki / tutorials / youtubes on this?

 

I dont like burning your time with what may be the basics, but cant find documentation relevant to the gold release...

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 11:37 AM in reply to: big_red_frog

Just found the short web videos on Repair Body and tspline to solid convert, and I belive I have been doing the right thing.

 

I dont have any red markers but I do have a significant number of Ngons 3 and Star points in yellow.

 

Running auto repair doesnt seem to help.

 

I am know I am close to working this out, but would appreciate any pointers.

 

Happy to share the underlying file, see attached.

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 12:22 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

Was this an obj import? Do you have the origional?

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: schneik

Original .max file, and the export to .obj which I imported into F360. cant seem to find where I did that now, getting confused in all this interface churn,.

I closed the bottom of the mesh with

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 01:35 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

I recreated how I got this far.

 

New design.

 

Modify

Import

Select Obj

Select file

 

There is a warning generated on the make up of the content, though I dont interpret it as critical.

 

Then to close the bottom, I select one of the inside edges on the bottom and "fil hole"

 

At that point the properties imply it is watertight.

 

It appears in smoothed mode at that point, and I use toggle to switch back to box view.

 

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 01:43 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

I took your first model.

 

Deleted half since it is symmetrical

Used unweld edge to break into hundreds of flat faces

Converted these to brep.

Stitched the faces into the helmet and faceplate.

Used laft and patch to fill the bottom opening.

 

file here:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7825485/helmet.f3d

 

I left it as three surface bodies but if you stitch these you will get a solid that you can export to stl from the browser.

 

helmet.png

 

See you online. Gamertag: flylightning

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 01:57 PM in reply to: schneik

Huge Kudos for the fast response!

 

I will have a go and see if I can get this across to STL ( my use of F360 is all for hobby 3D printing )

 

Then I need to digest what you did and see if I can reproduce.

 

Did you do all of that in F360, or was some of it in Max?

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 02:04 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

All in Fusion 360. STL Attached.

 

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.