Discussion Groups

Get Help with Fusion 360

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bmdesign
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
Accepted Solution

How to group things (without creating joints)?

114 Views, 3 Replies
08-02-2013 07:41 AM

I've got these two cylinder skins, next to each other. I'd like to keep them that way.

 

skins.png

 

The reason for the two layers is that they are different materials. Due to having used joints in creating these, they are in different components each (side question: how can I bring them into the same component?)

 

Now, if I add a joint only one of these will move, leaving the other one stranded. How should I effectively glue them together? Is that what the grouping is for? Should I undo the componentization before grouping? etc.

Asko Kauppi

IT guy into Cleantech. Aiming to bridge public transport to 21st century solutions.
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
bmdesign
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: How to group things (without creating joints)?

08-02-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: bmdesign

Okay, that was easy.

 

1. open both components in the browser

2. drag a body from the 2nd to the 1st - drop over 'bodies'

3. the now empty 2nd component can be removed

 

Leaving here in case someone finds this useful. Have a great weekend! :smileyhappy:

Asko Kauppi

IT guy into Cleantech. Aiming to bridge public transport to 21st century solutions.
Please use plain text.
Product Support
innovatenate
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎11-22-2011

Re: How to group things (without creating joints)?

08-02-2013 11:52 AM in reply to: bmdesign

Asko,

 

Thanks for updating us with the solution! 

 

Cheers,

 

 



Nathan Chandler


Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
Oceanconcepts
Posts: 443
Registered: ‎03-28-2013

Re: How to group things (without creating joints)?

08-02-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: bmdesign

Another approach I find useful is to create nesting components, that is to create a master component and drag both cylinder components into it.  Then when you want to move or apply some action to any level, you simply select the appropriate component or sub-component.  I've used this to create an assembly of switch components (circuit board, mechanical parts, electronic components, all sub-components) that I can move and manipulate to fit in different ways into the model. 

 

Ron

- Ron

27" iMac Core i5, OS 10.8.5, 8GB RAM
Please use plain text.