Area :: Header
Interested in making Indie games?

Register for a Meet the Experts webinar with Digital-Tutors today!
Discussion Groups

General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
varek3d
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-04-2006

mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

15 Views, 49 Replies
11-25-2008 05:10 PM
Autodesk has made big changes! YUCK!

Okay, I made a woman in zbrush, nothing complex, however I was just trying to get a proper displacement in Maya 2009.

Now here's where things get weird!

Using several Zbrush methods I got the weirdest displacement (see grey woman) as supposed to the nicer version (red woman) in zbrush. So I had an idea to bring it into mudbox for a better result thinking that mudbox 2009 and Maya 2009 would work well together!

Anyway, I (after trial and error) successfully imported my character into mudbox and TRIED to generate a displacement 32bit tiff. According to what i read on these boards, Mudbox generates it with a LZW compression that Maya can't read (why would mudbox do this??) so, I generated an .EXR (whatever that is) and, according to the info, change it into a 32bit uncompressed tiff. Well of course, I thought this would work!? NOPE!, the map is the wrong kind or different than usual (see map pic) so I tried some tweaking in Maya to make it work but no success. I even made the tiff into a .MAP file. (The map should be grayish according to what i have seen.) SO far the best results from mudbox so far is an 8 bit PNG file, however this looks baaaaad (low rez) So I've taken my zbrush knowledge and seen some old mudbox tutorials that MAAAY shed some light on this without success.

So does anyone know how to take a 32 bit displacement from mudbox 2009 and bring it into maya 2009, I wish this wasn't so difficult there are a vast array of settings to go through to try and make it work!

Thanks in advance!

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Justinoman
Posts: 430
Registered: ‎01-18-2007

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-25-2008 05:34 PM in reply to: varek3d
Dude, don't blame mudbox for that. Mudbox generates maps that are way more acutate than ZB. The baking process is always complicated becuase every renderer has it's own standards. Mudbox has many different options and so does mental rays displacment. Look around the forum. I am sure you will find something. I would love to help, but I have worked out a nice pipe in max vray... Not your package.
www.justin-lloyd.com
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
DarthWayne_1
Posts: 831
Registered: ‎08-27-2006

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-25-2008 07:22 PM in reply to: varek3d
varek3d. The maya pipeline works fine, try not to blame mudbox until your 100% where the problem lies.


Wayne...

PS take a look in the tutorials section you'll find hours of free tutorials.
www.MudboxHub.com Independant Mudbox User Forum

www.DashDotSlash.net - personal site
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
varek3d
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-04-2006

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-25-2008 08:02 PM in reply to: varek3d
Thank you, your right I'm very frustrated... however, I was hoping for some answers or at the very least a nudge in the right direction? I have done displacements in the past fine with ZB, and I enjoyed working in it, I haven't tried mudbox as much but I'm still learning, however I'll keep looking for answers on this site if they are there.

DarthWayne, love your tutorials and honored you responded... I'm not such a bad guy but working 2 weeks in finding answers tends to get one VERY frustrated!

Please feel free to share nudges or hints?
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
DarthWayne_1
Posts: 831
Registered: ‎08-27-2006

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-25-2008 10:34 PM in reply to: varek3d
I dont have maya on this machien right now, but I'd sugest posting your mase mesh so that others can try and replicate your problem. thts the 1st step to finding a solution to it. I do now how frustrating it is to look for weeks for an answer to stuff. Don't worry we'll get you a solution.

Wayne...
www.MudboxHub.com Independant Mudbox User Forum

www.DashDotSlash.net - personal site
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
varek3d
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-04-2006

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-25-2008 10:54 PM in reply to: varek3d
LOL, funny , I was just watching your video on displacement/normal maps... I think what I really need is to know what ingredience I need and the proper settings in MR for Maya, however I'm rather stumped on it.

I"ll see if I can zip up the base mesh for download... However I'm not sure what they can do with a OBJ to find a solution, but at this point I'll try anything...

Thank you!

One student said to me once..."some problems should come with a bottle of aspirin" :-)
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
skycastleMud
Posts: 633
Registered: ‎02-19-2008

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-25-2008 11:12 PM in reply to: varek3d
Export a 4 channel EXR image from Mudbox. (Maya will support our tif next version so we codded things this way. Also most other apps support this tif compression) The reason to use a 32bits per channel image is so you dont need to mess with multiply settings to get an accurate reconstruction of your highRes at render time.

Import your low res to Mudbox

Assign a Blinn shader

Select the shading group for that Blinn shader

Assign a file texture node to the displacement channel in the shading group node and import the EXR from Mudbox

---

Go to Window>Rendering Editors>Mental Ray> Approximation Editor

With your head mesh selected press create under Subdivisions (mid section) not Displacement

Edit the node and set the Approximation Method to Spacial.

Set Length to 0.1

Set Mental Ray as the renderer

Render.

**For very fine details in the map you may need to use different approximation settings.

**Also I recommed you use the Maya automatic mapping for the UV as those Zbrush UVs away to fragmented and could cause you pain later.

Let me know how it goes.
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
skycastleMud
Posts: 633
Registered: ‎02-19-2008

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-25-2008 11:33 PM in reply to: varek3d
Also consider using the bump map from Mudbox and render as a bump in Mental Ray for fine details. Its much faster to render than actual displacement in Mental Ray.

If you need fine displaced details in MR you could try settings like these.

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
varek3d
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-04-2006

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-26-2008 05:11 AM in reply to: varek3d
skycastleMud!!!!

YOU ARE AWESOME! THANK YOU!!!! :-D

WOW!!! the render way better than I could have expected! I wasn't looking for perfection, but wow!!!

I owe you a drink!!! ;-) YOU DA MAN! *does the dance of joy!* (tosses the aspirin)

Hooray for skycastelMud!!!

I've included a pic of a simple render... wow, now I can go on with my life!

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
varek3d
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-04-2006

Re: mudbox 2009 displacement in Maya 2009??

11-26-2008 05:34 AM in reply to: varek3d
BTW, DarthWayne,

I can admit when I'm wrong, I was a tad over the top... So I altered my question so ti's not as bad as it was :-)

At least now I can continue with my project...

V
Please use plain text.