Reply
Contributor
philnolan3d
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Converting back to T-spline for export

504 Views, 9 Replies
04-29-2013 01:49 AM

It's cool that Fusion has the option to convert the poly / sub-D (t-spline) models to surfaces and solids but I'd really love if it had the option to go back. It would be great too to have some standard poly / sub-D export options like .LWO. I'm thinking in particular of MOI. It has a really nice converter so that I could work on a model using CAD tools, then save it out as an LWO and continue working on it in LightWave. This would be nice as I prefer the tools in LightWave and LWCad, but sometimes CAD specific tools are easier. Plus I have some nice tools in LW for checking the thickness to make sure it's OK for printing.

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
colin.smith
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-26-2007

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

05-31-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: philnolan3d

Hi Phil, 

 

Thanks for the suggestion.  While I can understand why you would want an option to output LWO files for Lightwave work it is the first time I've heard the request.  Can Lightwave take in IGES or STEP files?  What it he advantage that you would see from using a LWO file?

 

Thanks


Colin

Colin Smith
Product Manager - Fusion 360
Please use plain text.
Contributor
philnolan3d
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

05-31-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: colin.smith

No LightWave does not support Iges or Step. It does have a third party plug in to support STL, but it's better to be native. Aside from convenience LWO is probably the most versitle object format out there, supporting texture information, vertex info like morphs and colors, multiple object layers. It's supported by many other software packages as well. It just makes sense to me to use it.

 

I gave up on Fusion 360 anyway. MoI3D offered me a better experience as was a lot cheaper.

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 651
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

05-31-2013 08:20 PM in reply to: philnolan3d
What was the price you paid for MOI?

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
Member
dccshazam
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

09-09-2013 12:26 PM in reply to: philnolan3d

Different reason for the same functionality request.

 

I have a solid model I would like to modify with T-Splines. The model needs just a vew faces to be modified and I do not have the parametric model (even if I did, I would rather edit with t-splines) to make the needed changes.

 

A convert from b-rep faces/solid to T-Spline would be huge.

 

Thanks,

Dustin

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 651
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

09-09-2013 05:24 PM in reply to: dccshazam
Have you tried edit face in the modeling/modify tools?

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
Member
dccshazam
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

09-09-2013 09:41 PM in reply to: philnolan3d

Hi Kevin,

 

I have tried Edit Face, but it only allows for a single face. The part I have has many filleted edges, so I would need to select multiple faces for what I need to do. There is not a straight edge on this part and all I need to do is to move/rotate a face to get the part modified how I need it for the mold modification I am looking to have done.

 

I have also tried to use Move face and a few other operations with no luck.

Please use plain text.
Employee
deyop
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-24-2006

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

09-10-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: dccshazam

We are working on a Convert Face to T-Spline right now.  You will be able to select multiple faces and convert to T-Spline.  Each T-Spline will convert based on a the number of faces in length and width (Uniform) or based on deviation (Curvature).  Once converted the individual T-Splines are not a single topology.  They don't "know" what the continuity is at each edge like a T-Spline body does.

 

Will this help you?

 

T-SplineConvertFromFace.png

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 651
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

09-10-2013 09:35 AM in reply to: dccshazam

Adding to Paul's reply...

Highly filleted models can be hard to modify ( especialy if they come from Pro/E AKA Creo). Sometimes I need to remove fillets in order to be able to modify the imported geometry. They re-apply the fillets.

Can you post an image of the mode and the desired change? I am sure we can help get the edits you want.

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
Member
dccshazam
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: Converting back to T-spline for export

09-10-2013 10:12 AM in reply to: deyop
That would be a great enhancement for sure. I understand the challenge of having the faces convert and still understand the continuity in t-splines.

I look forward to trying it out to see if it will work; however, I do not think it will work considering some of the faces I would be selecting are faces created by fillets. I do think there might be an acceptable workflow that may involve deleting some of the converted faces (after doing some sculpting) and rebuild some faces in the patch environment.

Thanks,
Dustin
Please use plain text.