Announcements
Visit Fusion 360 Feedback Hub, the great way to connect to our Product, UX, and Research teams. See you there!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STOP making sketches move when you edit it

STOP making sketches move when you edit it

One of the most annoying parts of the engineering aspect of Fusion is that when I change dimensions of a sketch in Fusion the sketch moves.

Here is an example: So I change the radius of the fillet and instead of the top getting

smaller or bigger (change of radius) also the triangle changes it's size. 

Screen Shot 2014-04-18 at 1.17.23 PM.png

Screen Shot 2014-04-18 at 1.17.35 PM.png

The point of constraint sketches is that I can place them where needed and extrude

my solids out of them and when adjusting the sketch the solid will be adjusted.

As a designer I do not want to reposition my solid after editing the sketch!

10 Comments
garin
Alumni

I have seen this same thing when editing some sketches. Its always a bit tricky for the system to know how you want to update a sketch when there is a lot of "open degrees of freedom" on the sketch but we should be able to do a better job at minimal changes on cases like this. It would be great to see other examples where you and other see sketch edits like this that aren't desirable. 

cekuhnen
Mentor

Technically speaking to prevent this I have to constraint the lines.

It would be great if Fusion can stablize the curves because that's pretty much how it works in all other CAD systems I work with.

It just removes the work overhead.

keqingsong
Community Manager

Good idea here; anyone else experiencing this / support this idea? We would love to hear more example workflow where this idea would greatly benefit you. 

keqingsong
Community Manager
Status changed to: 実装済み

cekuhnen
Mentor

Just think about it from a logical stand point.

Why does the sketch change only because I fillet a corner.