Announcements
Visit Fusion 360 Feedback Hub, the great way to connect to our Product, UX, and Research teams. See you there!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Place/import Text and/or paths as sketch

Place/import Text and/or paths as sketch

Hi,

i'm rather new to Fusion 360 so please bear with me if this was already suggested or at last is a working feature already and i just didn't find it 🙂

It would be great if one could place text as a sketch or probably a solid object (the latter won't be so important as you could always extrude from the sketch). Also the possibility to import paths from let's say Illustrator or other vector based tools would be good as a sketch so you could import technical drawings or similar as a base for extrusions.

Thanks!

Frank

25 Comments
Oceanconcepts
Advisor

I know this came up in the old forum and is fairly obvious,  but thought it should be included here.  The ability to directly enter and convert text to sketch elements, to use in adding 3D features. 

Oceanconcepts
Advisor
Helmi74
Collaborator

hm yeah though the import stuff for paths is nearly as important as it could probable just replace the text stuff - at least in first step.

Oceanconcepts
Advisor

This feature request is also related, and more general- text would most likely be imported as paths. Might want to vote that up.  

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Request-a-Feature-Fusion-360/Emboss-Soft-Select-amp-Painted-Displaceme...

Ron

colin.smith
Alumni

Hi Frank, 

Thanks for the suggestion.  Text is on our feature list for a future release.  As Ron pointed out we have had a few requests already on the subject.

Cheers,

Colin

tdtwohy
Advocate

I'd settle for .AI or even EPS 🙂

Please! 

colin.smith
Alumni

That's a good point @tdtwohy, I believe this is on our list somewhere but I'll make sure.

Keep the suggestions coming.

Colin

tdtwohy
Advocate

My god... I can't even place a .dxf file.

AAAGH!! **angry face**