FMDesktop

Reply
Active Member
Katsaras
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-25-2006
Message 1 of 9 (213 Views)

Revit , ADT or both

213 Views, 8 Replies
08-03-2006 12:28 PM
Just a general question. Now that the product is developed in the Autodesk realm... we must expect it to intergrate with revit mostly ? I mean will the best of the features be build around the BIM model or can we expect it to be closely to ADT?
Surely you can answer me that the product will work with both but since we talk about different technologies, restrictions and limitations will it be closer to Revit or ADT?
*melanie stone
Message 2 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-03-2006 12:38 PM in reply to: Katsaras
how about MAP? :smileywink:

Seriously though, and I'm just guessing here, but, it's my understand that
it has been (so far) working with plain autocad objects, so I'd guess plain
autocad over either of those choices (or ADT over Revit, as adt's dwg files
can be directly used in acad more than rvt)

It would be nice to be able to bring in a real, usable model like from
revit, but, do they see a market for that *yet*? BIM is getting a lot of
press these days, so I hope so, but, at the same time, if I was a customer
and not yet using revit, i might resent development dollars being spent on a
BIM fm application, rather than whatever I am using at that time.

--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/

wrote in message news:5258381@discussion.autodesk.com...
Just a general question. Now that the product is developed in the Autodesk
realm... we must expect it to intergrate with revit mostly ? I mean will the
best of the features be build around the BIM model or can we expect it to be
closely to ADT?
Surely you can answer me that the product will work with both but since we
talk about different technologies, restrictions and limitations will it be
closer to Revit or ADT?
Employee
mark.evans
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-22-2004
Message 3 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-08-2006 08:01 AM in reply to: Katsaras
All of our current development plans call for FMDesktop to be equally compatible with either Revit or ADT. You are correct to assume that FMDesktop will integrate more information from Revit or ADT than it will from ACAD because there is simply more information available from the vertical applications.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions


Mark Evans
Senior Product Manager
AEC Division, Simulation Product Line
Autodesk, Inc.

*melanie stone
Message 4 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-08-2006 08:32 AM in reply to: Katsaras
I've got a question for you, Mark.
So, this will be developed to work with both ADT and Revit content...

will that all be in one program? or would we, as facility managers have to
pick one or the other?

It would be nice for an owner to have the option to accept both file types
from contractors, but, then you'd be faced with the difficulties of making
the types work together (say an area is orginally designed with adt then
renovated with revit or adjacent areas were designed and/or renovated with
both programs).
You're just working with file types in their native forms, right? No
conversion to some other format?

Thanks,

--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/


wrote in message news:5261941@discussion.autodesk.com...
All of our current development plans call for FMDesktop to be equally
compatible with either Revit or ADT. You are correct to assume that
FMDesktop will integrate more information from Revit or ADT than it will
from ACAD because there is simply more information available from the
vertical applications.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions
*Revitiscool
Message 5 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-08-2006 06:49 PM in reply to: Katsaras
FmDesktop does not work with Revit yet. It can read native ADT information
though.

At my firm we did a lot of research for CAFM solutions and found most
require you to "polyline" your plans to create rooms and suites. All of them
work with AutoCAD, most can now recognize and work with ADT space objects.
None of them work with Revit. This is because until recently Revit did not
have an API.


"melanie stone" wrote in message
news:5262003@discussion.autodesk.com...
I've got a question for you, Mark.
So, this will be developed to work with both ADT and Revit content...

will that all be in one program? or would we, as facility managers have to
pick one or the other?

It would be nice for an owner to have the option to accept both file types
from contractors, but, then you'd be faced with the difficulties of making
the types work together (say an area is orginally designed with adt then
renovated with revit or adjacent areas were designed and/or renovated with
both programs).
You're just working with file types in their native forms, right? No
conversion to some other format?

Thanks,

--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/


wrote in message news:5261941@discussion.autodesk.com...
All of our current development plans call for FMDesktop to be equally
compatible with either Revit or ADT. You are correct to assume that
FMDesktop will integrate more information from Revit or ADT than it will
from ACAD because there is simply more information available from the
vertical applications.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions
Employee
mark.evans
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-22-2004
Message 6 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-08-2006 07:25 PM in reply to: Katsaras
In the current version of FMDesktop (6.5), the Facilty Link module is an ACAD plug-in that provides tools for creating space poly-lines, adding or updating the corresponding records in the FMDesktop database, and publishes the floor plan to DWF that is used in the other FMDesktop modules. You can do the same thing using ADT (not taking advantage of ADT space objects).

FMDesktop uses DWF because it is lightweight, can carry non-graphic data, and is Autodesk's stated direction for applications that are "downstream" consumers of data from design applications. ADT, ABS, and the Revit series of applications all produce DWF files that contain some degree of object intelligence within them.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions


Mark Evans
Senior Product Manager
AEC Division, Simulation Product Line
Autodesk, Inc.

*melanie stone
Message 7 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-09-2006 05:24 AM in reply to: Katsaras
I realize that, is why I said "So, this will be developed"
So, it sees the AEC objects from ADT already with no problems?

Well, yes, I know of no cafm program that even mentions revit, but,
they, I'm sure are waiting for the market to start taking over before
they spend development dollars to support a program that a minority
are using.

I'm just happy to hear that the option will be provided in some form...
at some point in time.

thanks. :smileyhappy:

--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/

"Revitiscool" <0> wrote in message news:5262795@discussion.autodesk.com...
FmDesktop does not work with Revit yet. It can read native ADT information
though.

At my firm we did a lot of research for CAFM solutions and found most
require you to "polyline" your plans to create rooms and suites. All of them
work with AutoCAD, most can now recognize and work with ADT space objects.
None of them work with Revit. This is because until recently Revit did not
have an API.


"melanie stone" wrote in message
news:5262003@discussion.autodesk.com...
I've got a question for you, Mark.
So, this will be developed to work with both ADT and Revit content...

will that all be in one program? or would we, as facility managers have to
pick one or the other?

It would be nice for an owner to have the option to accept both file types
from contractors, but, then you'd be faced with the difficulties of making
the types work together (say an area is orginally designed with adt then
renovated with revit or adjacent areas were designed and/or renovated with
both programs).
You're just working with file types in their native forms, right? No
conversion to some other format?

Thanks,

--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/


wrote in message news:5261941@discussion.autodesk.com...
All of our current development plans call for FMDesktop to be equally
compatible with either Revit or ADT. You are correct to assume that
FMDesktop will integrate more information from Revit or ADT than it will
from ACAD because there is simply more information available from the
vertical applications.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions
*melanie stone
Message 8 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-09-2006 05:29 AM in reply to: Katsaras
:smileywink: Thanks Mark. I realize that I can't expect to hear too much about the
future plans for the program, as they are still under development and you
don't want to make any promises.

Alright, I understand the use of DWF. But, one thing I am curious about, is
there some sort of automation in the creation of the DWF? Like, after I've
modified a drawing or a set of drawings, is it automatically republished? or
is there a one-button publish? or would I have to do some sort of plotting
setup each time. (I'm sure these are rather elementary questions, but,
please, humour me, as always)

Thanks again for taking the time out to answer questions, Mark. It's always
appreciated.

--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/

wrote in message news:5262799@discussion.autodesk.com...
In the current version of FMDesktop (6.5), the Facilty Link module is an
ACAD plug-in that provides tools for creating space poly-lines, adding or
updating the corresponding records in the FMDesktop database, and publishes
the floor plan to DWF that is used in the other FMDesktop modules. You can
do the same thing using ADT (not taking advantage of ADT space objects).

FMDesktop uses DWF because it is lightweight, can carry non-graphic data,
and is Autodesk's stated direction for applications that are "downstream"
consumers of data from design applications. ADT, ABS, and the Revit series
of applications all produce DWF files that contain some degree of object
intelligence within them.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions
*melanie stone
Message 9 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Revit , ADT or both

08-09-2006 09:05 AM in reply to: Katsaras
ooh, check me out... I'm *so* in this class... I should hold all of my silly
questions until after I've gotten my training this year. :smileywink:

When Revit® Meets Autodesk® FMDesktop:
Description:This session will introduce management professionals,
architects, and space planners to the powerful relationship that develops
when parametric software meets facilities management software. You'll see
how to integrate your BIM model and facilities data into a super-charged
facilities management tool. Learn how to create up-to-date space, asset,
occupancy, and move management information for your facility or campus.

Key Topics:
- Creating the BIM model
- Creating facilities management information within the BIM model
- Exporting facilities management information to DWF files
- Importing facilities information into FM Desktop
- Creating up-to-date space, asset, occupancy, and move management
information using FM Desktop
Who Should Attend:Facility managers, architects, space planners
Speaker(s):Clyne Curtis


--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/

"melanie stone" wrote in message
news:5263047@discussion.autodesk.com...
:smileywink: Thanks Mark. I realize that I can't expect to hear too much about the
future plans for the program, as they are still under development and you
don't want to make any promises.

Alright, I understand the use of DWF. But, one thing I am curious about, is
there some sort of automation in the creation of the DWF? Like, after I've
modified a drawing or a set of drawings, is it automatically republished? or
is there a one-button publish? or would I have to do some sort of plotting
setup each time. (I'm sure these are rather elementary questions, but,
please, humour me, as always)

Thanks again for taking the time out to answer questions, Mark. It's always
appreciated.

--
Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com/

wrote in message news:5262799@discussion.autodesk.com...
In the current version of FMDesktop (6.5), the Facilty Link module is an
ACAD plug-in that provides tools for creating space poly-lines, adding or
updating the corresponding records in the FMDesktop database, and publishes
the floor plan to DWF that is used in the other FMDesktop modules. You can
do the same thing using ADT (not taking advantage of ADT space objects).

FMDesktop uses DWF because it is lightweight, can carry non-graphic data,
and is Autodesk's stated direction for applications that are "downstream"
consumers of data from design applications. ADT, ABS, and the Revit series
of applications all produce DWF files that contain some degree of object
intelligence within them.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community