FMDesktop

Reply
Contributor
josrios
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-06-2007
Message 1 of 41 (290 Views)

Polylining and BOMA Standard

290 Views, 40 Replies
02-06-2007 11:22 AM
I read that FmDesktop doesn't need plining because it automatically recognize de spaces. But for those whom understands BOMA, you know that each space type has a different perimeter or bounding line depending if its a floor common space, building common , vertical or usable area. How the automatic room recognition of FMDEsktop deals with the BOMA standard?
*Wanderer
Message 2 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 11:30 AM in reply to: josrios
that's sort of true and sort of not quite true...

FMD recognizes spaces from ADT and Revit.
But, those have to be set up beforehand. I believe in ADT you can
manually create spaces or you can automatically generate spaces.
In Revit rooms (I believe! <- there's my disclaimer) are always measured
face to face.
And the Auto-generation of spaces done with ADT is also face to face
(not from center of wall or whatever other measurement you use).

So, bottom line is that FMD can record which type of space each is, but,
you still have to have some manual up front input into it.


Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com


josrios wrote:
> I read that FmDesktop doesn't need plining because it automatically recognize de spaces. But for those whom understands BOMA, you know that each space type has a different perimeter or bounding line depending if its a floor common space, building common , vertical or usable area. How the automatic room recognition of FMDEsktop deals with the BOMA standard?
Contributor
josrios
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-06-2007
Message 3 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 11:37 AM in reply to: josrios
What about using conventional AutoCAD? Does it work with AutoCAD , or justo with ADT or Revit? And how do I Change de boundaries in ADT or Revit if I need to go BOMA wish have diferent boundaries situations depending on space types?
*Wanderer
Message 4 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 11:41 AM in reply to: josrios
In plain autocad our option is only plining (if we get to do fmd here,
I've requested a cross-grade to ADT... a couple hundred dollars)...

changing boundaries... I *believe* with ADT (i've created them, but, not
changed them yet and I don't have adt on this pc to try it out) you can
select a space and drag the corners where you need them.

But, with Revit, I'm pretty sure you don't have a choice (I'd like to be
proven wrong on that...) if I'm recalling correctly from my classes at
AU in December.


Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com




josrios wrote:
> What about using conventional AutoCAD? Does it work with AutoCAD , or justo with ADT or Revit? And how do I Change de boundaries in ADT or Revit if I need to go BOMA wish have diferent boundaries situations depending on space types?
Contributor
josrios
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-06-2007
Message 5 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 11:56 AM in reply to: josrios
Thanks for all that input!

I have 1.5 million SqFeet p-lined in AutoCAD, I use Facility Center (Tririga). I don' t see like a good idea to change all that to ADT room boundary method. So a migration from Facility Center to FMD should include all my AutoCAD files with p-lines. After all, the dirty job was made allready. Would that be your recomendation too?
Contributor
josrios
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-06-2007
Message 6 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 12:05 PM in reply to: josrios
I made a Space boundary in ADT. The trick is to change from left, right or center, as you make the space boundary. Then you can edit it, but as far as I went, if you make the change, all the boundary will get the selected trace,( If you pick Left, all the boundary will go left).
Contributor
josrios
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-06-2007
Message 7 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 12:12 PM in reply to: josrios
Also:

If your space has walls allready, you can set your space boundary to 0 thicknes and then trace around your walls like a conventional P-line. You can also create a Space around your walls and then convert it into a boundary. So far this is as tedious as p-lining is. I do not see the advantages! Maybe you have other opinion. Can you bring some light here?
*Wanderer
Message 8 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 01:04 PM in reply to: josrios
No problem, I'm just happy to have another FMer to talk to, this group
is becoming more active and it's great (there is also an FMDesktop forum
on AUGI.com, I haven't logged in in awhile, so I'm not sure how busy it is)!

I suppose if your plining is already done, there wouldn't be all that
much use in going back and creating Spaces in ADT like someone starting
from scratch, but, I'd be interested in hearing other opinions on that
as well.


I haven't played with the space creation too much, but, I didn't do the
manual one.
I used the Space Auto-Generate command (I was using ADT 2007, I'm not
sure if it was available in previous versions).

josrios wrote:
> Also:
>
> If your space has walls already, you can set your space boundary to 0 thicknes and then trace around your walls like a conventional P-line. You can also create a Space around your walls and then convert it into a boundary. So far this is as tedious as p-lining is. I do not see the advantages! Maybe you have other opinion. Can you bring some light here?
Contributor
josrios
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-06-2007
Message 9 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 01:30 PM in reply to: josrios
In fact, I'm the new AUGI's hot news CAFM columnist begining (I think) March. I was here cheking on FMDesktop because Its been realy hard to find a trial version. Anyway, I'm doing some research here cheking on users issues, and also my own personal issues as you can see. I think I'll be doing a lot of this until I get my trial version "hopefully". I'm planning to review FMD on June so I'm gathering as much information as I can. I'll be talking about CAFM in general in my frist column and the typical p-line integration with AutoCAD. THen some tricks and tips about p-lining, BOMA, IFMA and then FMD.
*Wanderer
Message 10 of 41 (290 Views)

Re: Polylining and BOMA Standard

02-06-2007 01:39 PM in reply to: josrios
oh. *very* cool. hopefully that will stir up discussions in my forums then.
:-) I should get back in there and make sure they're nice and tidy.
After all the time I spent harassing my husband, ever since he took on
the forum manager role, to put in the FM forums he is getting miffed
that I haven't been in there moderating them. HA! :smileywink: But, I've been busy
at night with a side gig and he knows that.

I look forward to your column with interest! I'm hoping to get approval
for at least a pilot project in FMD here this year. ~fingers crossed~
for me.

Did you get to go to AU this year? There were a lot of great FMDesktop
classes and I'm hoping there are even more this year.

The 2005 AU handouts are live on the augi site now, which will get some
good FM handouts from last year (including one on BOMA and IFMA
standards), but, nothing about FMD yet.



josrios wrote:
> In fact, I'm the new AUGI's hot news CAFM columnist begining (I think) March. I was here cheking on FMDesktop because Its been realy hard to find a trial version. Anyway, I'm doing some research here cheking on users issues, and also my own personal issues as you can see. I think I'll be doing a lot of this until I get my trial version "hopefully". I'm planning to review FMD on June so I'm gathering as much information as I can. I'll be talking about CAFM in general in my frist column and the typical p-line integration with AutoCAD. THen some tricks and tips about p-lining, BOMA, IFMA and then FMD..

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community