FM

Contributor
Kevin_Van
Message 1 of 37 (882 Views)

Archibus vs FM:Systems

882 Views, 36 Replies
12-03-2005 08:40 AM
Hello all.
I'm new to the FM world but have lots of experience with Autocad.
Where I recently started to work, we have Archibus v12. We are at a crossroads as to whether to upgrade to Archibus v15 or move to FM:smileyfrustrated:ystems. Important features include interaction with Autocad, ability to customize the software to our needs, asset management & reporting.
Anyone & all opinions are appreciated.
Thanks
Employee
mark.evans
Message 2 of 37 (882 Views)

Re: Archibus vs FM:Systems

12-05-2005 09:48 PM in reply to: Kevin_Van
Hi Kevin,

I think the best thing you could do, short of getting a free trial of each, would be to have an in depth conversation with current users of each of the applications you are considering. This may be hard with something as new as Archibus 15, but they should be able to give you some references.

Another key thing will be to accurately estimate the costs. It would be tempting to minimize the cost/effort in staying with Archibus, but three versions may be as intensive as starting with a new vendor. On the other hand, different systems may have very different ways of doing things -- so the switching cost to a new vendor is always high. No clear answer here, but the key is to spend some time thinking realistically about the switching costs.

Mark

Mark Evans
Senior Product Manager
AEC Division, Simulation Product Line
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
Kevin_Van
Message 3 of 37 (882 Views)

12-10-2005 02:29 PM in reply to: Kevin_Van
Thanks for the response Mark. You're right, there is no clear cut answer, so the search continues.
Does anyone know how much of the CAFM market share each owns?
- Kevin
Employee
mark.evans
Message 4 of 37 (882 Views)

12-10-2005 07:48 PM in reply to: Kevin_Van
Kevin,