Ecotect

Reply
Member
vil_lo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 1 of 5 (410 Views)

Radiance - Illuminance values are overestimated?

410 Views, 4 Replies
01-11-2012 05:55 AM

Hello there,

 

I am currently rendering a rather complex building with artificial lighting installed only. I imported my model from Ecotect to Radiance and then I got the lux levels calculated and then I imported that back to the Ecotect's grid.  However, the lux values that I got from Radiance/Ecotect are approximately ten times higher than what I measured from the actual building. I repeated the calculations for a number of times and I tried to switch on/off some lights as well. Yet, the lux calculation is still ten times higher than the actual measured values. Can anyone advise what's wrong? My model is built in millimeters. I am not sure if that would cause any problems?

 

Thanks.

 

v

Active Member
adam.barker
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 2 of 5 (374 Views)

Re: Radiance - Illuminance values are overestimated?

01-27-2012 02:11 PM in reply to: vil_lo

V,

 

did you consider the sky condition? It would be best if you had the exact time and date the light levels were taken, as well as the relative cloudiness of the sky.

Valued Contributor
arqyt
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎08-31-2010
Message 3 of 5 (364 Views)

Re: Radiance - Illuminance values are overestimated?

01-30-2012 08:42 PM in reply to: vil_lo

I always verify the normal faces that often leads to problems of analysis
Are you set appropriate values ​​of reflection?

Jose M Carralero.
ArqyT
Member
vil_lo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 4 of 5 (360 Views)

Re: Radiance - Illuminance values are overestimated?

01-31-2012 12:04 AM in reply to: arqyt

Hi Jose,

 

Yes, indeed. I measured the reflection values on-site... 

 

v

Member
vil_lo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 5 of 5 (359 Views)

Re: Radiance - Illuminance values are overestimated?

01-31-2012 12:06 AM in reply to: adam.barker

Dear adam.baker,

 

Yes. My sky condition is correct and I set the exact time, date and location when I did my simulation...

 

v

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Ask the Community