Ecotect

Reply
New Member
jastaDTU
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 1 of 4 (840 Views)

Is it possible the rotate the analysis grid or the origin?

840 Views, 3 Replies
09-13-2011 02:38 AM

Hi

Question:

 I like to create a Radiance VDF (vertical daylight factor) on one building façade. My problem is… that I cannot figure out how to change the normal of my analysis grid. The problem arises when I do an analysis on my south-orientated facade. The analysis's normal is then facing the façade (north) and thereby I only receive the reflected light. Is it possible the rotate the analysis grid or the origin?

Hope there are some who can help me ... is a little frustrating :smileysad:!

Thanks,

Jakob

New Member
jastaDTU
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 4 (820 Views)

Re: Is it possible the rotate the analysis grid or the origin?

09-21-2011 12:16 PM in reply to: jastaDTU

I am still looking for a solution! // Jakob

Contributor
FabianPosadas
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-07-2006
Message 3 of 4 (816 Views)

Re: Is it possible the rotate the analysis grid or the origin?

09-21-2011 01:44 PM in reply to: jastaDTU

I dont believe your issue with surface normals applies to the analysis grid. If you are using a surface subdivision (rectangular tiles or Sensor points) then you are right the surface normal will have an affect on your results.

 

Control + R will reverse your normals .

 

 

New Member
StudioJill
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2012
Message 4 of 4 (689 Views)

Re: Is it possible the rotate the analysis grid or the origin?

01-10-2012 04:07 PM in reply to: FabianPosadas

I have the same question as jastaDTU for a different application and I don't think the above answers it.

 

In my case, I would like to calculate the illumination levels of a ceiling. I would want the analysis grid to face down into the room, but be up close to the celing.

 

Also, I would like to calculate the illuminance on the walls, and have the grid always pointing toward the inside of the room. It looks like I can only do this with the grid on the floor or 2 of the 4 walls of a rectangular room. (By changind the Axis from XY to YZ and XZ?)

 

jastaDTU - if this answer (above) DID answer your question, could you please explain it to me?

 

Does anyone know if Ecotect can do this? Thank you

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Ask the Community