Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extremely low Reverberation Time Readings

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
997 Views, 3 Replies

Extremely low Reverberation Time Readings

Hi, 

Im new to the software and Im trying to calculate some simple reverberation times, Ive imported dxf geometry and the reverberation times are just incredibly low. I followed a couple of tutorials and had the same problem with the tutorial file compared to the results shown in the walk through.

The first one here was fine:

http://wiki.naturalfrequency.com/wiki/Ecotect_RT_Graph 

But the second one here has the same problem as when I import my own geometry, the times are always very low.

http://wiki.naturalfrequency.com/archive/ecotect/tutorials/acoustics-reverb.htm

Im not sure if it was related but I also had a problem with the materials library saying it couldnt find "Ecotect.lib" I have since worked out to go to user preferences and set the path for this but the only .lib i got was either default or ecotect_v4.lib so I assumed the latter was correct. 

It just seems that whatever I do I get very low RT even if i increase the volume and make the materials all none absorptive.

Ive attached some pictures showing the discrepency between the tutorial results and mine, and also my geometry and the results I get if I say all the material is "Timber Clad Masonary" 

Any help would be very much appreciated thanks.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Pennetier1
in reply to: 12083900

Hi 12083900, 

Well it looks like nothing is wrong on your hand...

I have ran both tutorials and indeed, I got the same results than you did - note that there is an error though in that the Reverberation Time.eco has its ceiling set as Suspended Absorber when at the begining of the tutorial, it should be Plywood.

Because that first tutorial was quite old, I have ran the same file using Ecotect 5.2 (2003) - sure enough the results are similar than those they posted on the tutorial.