Ecotect

Reply
New Member
_MEZ_
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 1 of 3 (898 Views)

ECOTECT to DAYSIM?

898 Views, 2 Replies
03-02-2011 11:59 AM

We are currently trying to find a process at our firm to achieve LEED credit EQc 8.1 Daylighting.  I downloaded the 30 day trial of ECOTECT and found that the daylighting will not work for LEED because it is running the simulation for a "worst case scenario".  Does anyone know if there is a way to get around this? can the date and time be changed? 

 

After doing some research it lead me to DAYSIM, which also is not yielding useable results. footcandles please.  

 

Does anyone know a proven process and/or software to achieve LEED credit EQc 8.1?  Any help or suggestions on this matter would be very helpful and appreciated.   

Active Member
missrocki
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 2 of 3 (872 Views)

Re: ECOTECT to DAYSIM?

03-08-2011 12:53 PM in reply to: _MEZ_

Hi,

 

When you run DAYSIM and the final results pop out, once of the first results will actually tell you whether your space attains the minimal 2% of 4% DF or not - -see attached screen shots. I am not sure why you would need fc values if the leed credit requires a confirmation of whether the space attains the 2% or not?

 

In any case, you`ll find more information and access to Daysim discussion group at the following:

http://www.daysim.com/index.html

 

Daysim is a pretty well rounded product (As long as the setup is correct) -- I don`t think I`ve encountered any other daylighting analysis progs (related to Ecotect) which would actually state for you whether or not your space achieves the credit or not.

Contributor
Boesselmann
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-16-2011
Message 3 of 3 (866 Views)

Re: ECOTECT to DAYSIM?

03-08-2011 06:56 PM in reply to: _MEZ_

I agree with Misrocki that Daysim is a really good software to use.

 

I do not see the possibility to only use Ecotect for your purpose. Also  I once ran some validation simulations using the daylight simulation within Ecotect. The results were not very good.

 

If you use Radiance you can be sure to get quite good results. You can install Radiance for free and then export your model form Ecotect to Radiance and the results back to Ecotect again. At all times you stay in the Ecotect interface. When conducting a simulation in Radiance you can set the date and time as reqqired in the IEQ c8.1

 

Best regards

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Ask the Community