Community
Dynamic Blocks Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how do I make a simple racetrack shape into a block?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
RChalmers2
448 Views, 5 Replies

how do I make a simple racetrack shape into a block?

I am completely new to blocks and having a devil of a time with it.  How do I make the shape in the attached drawing into a block with geometry that changes as the width and length change, as illustrated?  I can't figure it out and the help files I've found on-line are, well, not helpful.  I can make it so it stretches vertically but can't figure out how to make the width behave as desired-so that the ends remain semi-circular.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Libbya
in reply to: RChalmers2

What you are asking to do is not exactly easy due to arcs not stretching well...

Attached is the file which, I believe, is working the way you would like.  It uses some advanced concepts, e.g. chained parameters, distance multiplier changes, angle offset changes.  

Look it over and play with it and let me know what you need explained.

Message 3 of 6
Libbya
in reply to: Libbya

In looking at your file, it seems you may just want the whole block to scale and maintain the same length and width proportions.  If that is the case, then the block can be MUCH simple with just one linear parameter and a scale action on the whole block.

Message 4 of 6
RChalmers2

Thank you Libbya.  That is exactly what I want.  I'll have to study it a bit to figure it out.

Message 5 of 6
Libbya
in reply to: RChalmers2

Attached is a file that functions the same but has been cleaned up a bit with the params/actions renamed and all the actions other than the scales moved to the Width parameter.  Here's the summary...

There is the main Length parameter with the stretch action to move the lower arc and 'Scale Bottom Arc' parameter and to stretch the two straight sides up or down.