Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Contributor
peter_m.
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 1 of 10 (765 Views)

Lookup table properties value returned within field

765 Views, 9 Replies
08-24-2012 05:05 AM

I am unsure weather to post this in Dyn Block technical or Fields as it comprises elements of both.

I am trying to get a field to return a 'lookup properties' value...

Actually, what I am trying to do is use a field to display either a + or a - depending upon upon the state of a flip parameter.

How I have been trying to achieve that is by using a lookup table to assign:

Input Properties.....Lookup Properties
Not flipped........=............+
Flipped.............=............-

Then I'm setting a Field to look at the Object 'Lookup Parameter' and return 'Lookup Action'.

The field then displays '#########' when testing the block.

When I return to edit the field it complains 'the object referenced y the field has been erased'. Both the table and parameter are still there, so I don't know what the problem is.

Can you tell me where I'm going wrong?
Or is there a better way of having a field return a specific value based upon a parameter state?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 10 (758 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-24-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: peter_m.

Post your Block

You may need to use two Lookup Actions for one Lookup Parameter to get this done.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
peter_m.
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 3 of 10 (745 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-28-2012 03:37 AM in reply to: peter_m.

Thanks for the help. See attached.

 

I know there're bugs, I'm experimenting with various things, teaching myself as I go along.

Mentor
ojuris
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 4 of 10 (734 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-28-2012 05:02 AM in reply to: peter_m.

if I understand correct what You need

 

Juris

Contributor
peter_m.
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 5 of 10 (715 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-30-2012 03:02 AM in reply to: peter_m.

That's great, and thanks, but how did you do it?

When I try and interogate the field Acad returns a 'not a valid object error', so I haven't been able to discern what you've done...

Active Member
juris.o
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
Message 6 of 10 (713 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-30-2012 03:23 AM in reply to: peter_m.

hmm - I don`t know

I don`t do any special

Just simple open attribute, delete your error field and add new field

 

lookup.png

 

Juris

Contributor
peter_m.
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 7 of 10 (708 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-30-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: peter_m.

Ah. I see, you added the field within the attribute editor.

I'm hoping to be able to adde the field within te block editor, so that it is the default for the attribute.

So I'm not able to select the block reference...

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 8 of 10 (695 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-30-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: peter_m.

Try using BlockPlaceHolder whilst in the BE and then choose the Lookup Action.

This should get you the same result.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
peter_m.
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 9 of 10 (692 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-30-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: peter_m.

Brilliant, cheers. That's perfect.

I was just reading through AUGI to get 2 lookups in.

So straightforward as well... feeling a little dim :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 10 of 10 (690 Views)

Re: Lookup table properties value returned within field

08-30-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: peter_m.

I was getting too complicated with the double Lookup thought but if you are interested in doing so in the future you can follow these steps:

 

-Create Dbl Lookup Set
Open the Block Properties Palette, Go to the Parameter Sets tab, Right click the Lookup Set icon, Copy / Paste then Rename (Lookup Set Double; or whatever), Right click this new Parameter set, Properties, Actions (at the bottom), Click the bar, Click the …   , Add Action object Lookup, Ok, Ok, drag and drop as needed. This can be done with any Parameter/Action you want.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community