Dynamic Blocks

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 11 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: Help me cut down template file size?

12-01-2009 12:52 PM in reply to: PGnirk
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334440&linkID=9240898
Scale List clean up utility here.
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Distinguished Contributor
PGnirk
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 12 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: Help me cut down template file size?

12-01-2009 01:08 PM in reply to: PGnirk
Cool. Thank you! So now that I've grabbed those, I put them into the support folder where my AutoCAD files are located. I closed out, then got back into CAD. I'm not sure if that automatically runs the .exe file or not, but it didn't seem to, from what I could see. Sorry, I feel pretty ignorant at this point. oy
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 13 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: Help me cut down template file size?

12-01-2009 01:17 PM in reply to: PGnirk
Not quite sure myself if it does any more than what you did manually earlier. Like I said though do your template and any DB's you created over the last couple of days and you should get ahead of it.
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Distinguished Contributor
PGnirk
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 14 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: Help me cut down template file size?

12-01-2009 01:20 PM in reply to: PGnirk
Mr. Shade, I appreciate your time! I think I'm ahead of it, at least as far as I can expect at this point. You did save me some MBs, so I thank you! Hopefully I'll find a way to cut this thing in half, but I'm not too optimistic.
I hope you have a great day/night, etc..
Best wishes
*T Bennett
Message 15 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: Help me cut down template file size?

12-01-2009 03:39 PM in reply to: PGnirk
You have done a PURGE, correct? It's where I always start.

Todd

wrote in message news:6297338@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have created four or five dynamic blocks within our template here at work,
and the size of the file has gone through the roof (at least in terms of
templates go. . . . 2.8MB). It's actually bogging down one of the drafter's
computers when he goes from PS Tab to Tab (sad, I know).
Anyway, does anyone have any suggestions for how to substantially cut the
file size? Is there actually a way to cut dynamic blocks down in size?
Any ideas/suggestions would be very appreciated!
Thank you in advance, and have a great day!

Edited by: PGnirk on Dec 1, 2009 12:46 PM
*T Bennett
Message 16 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: Help me cut down template file size?

12-01-2009 04:01 PM in reply to: PGnirk
Just for curiosity sake, AUDIT your drawing. Wheeee!

I was looking for a monospaced font one time and found a nice one.
Unfortunately, it was a memory hog and beat my video card up too. Are you
using any special fonts?

Another thing you might try is to narrow down which block is the memory pig.
There may be a way to check the size of an embedded block, but I'd just open
Windows Explorer and find the template file, select a block then
delete-and-purge it, save, check the file size in Explorer, undo, then
repeat the steps.

If you thought AUDIT was fun you should try DBLIST. They probably won't
tell you anything, but you may find something odd.

Todd

wrote in message news:6297338@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have created four or five dynamic blocks within our template here at work,
and the size of the file has gone through the roof (at least in terms of
templates go. . . . 2.8MB). It's actually bogging down one of the drafter's
computers when he goes from PS Tab to Tab (sad, I know).
Anyway, does anyone have any suggestions for how to substantially cut the
file size? Is there actually a way to cut dynamic blocks down in size?
Any ideas/suggestions would be very appreciated!
Thank you in advance, and have a great day!

Edited by: PGnirk on Dec 1, 2009 12:46 PM

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community