Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Member
rickp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Message 1 of 9 (355 Views)

Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

355 Views, 8 Replies
02-27-2014 07:01 AM

I have read through all the forum posts regarding Dynamic block attributes not updating, but I have not seen an answer to my question.

 

I use attext in Autocad LT 2014 to extract data from attributes in the drawing.    The block has 7 attributes, and 3 of 7 are constants.    If I insert blocks in the drawing and run the attext command, the data extracts without an issue.     However, if I make a change to any blocks already inserted into the drawing, then all the constant attribute values disappear in the attext report.     

 

The attached PDF expains the problem.    I have also included the block and attext template file.

 

Does anyone know why the constant attributes disappear after a block edit?

 

 

Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 2 of 9 (350 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

02-27-2014 07:23 AM in reply to: rickp

Tried running "Attsync" after you've made changes to the block?

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
Member
rickp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Message 3 of 9 (342 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

02-27-2014 03:05 PM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

Yes I run attsyn after updating the block but it does not solve the problem

Valued Contributor
Imui
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Message 4 of 9 (330 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

02-28-2014 03:49 AM in reply to: rickp

Hello

Could you post 2010 version dwg.

Member
rickp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Message 5 of 9 (325 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

02-28-2014 10:50 AM in reply to: rickp

Posting version 2010 as requested

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 9 (311 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

02-28-2014 01:57 PM in reply to: rickp

After you change one and the ATTEXT no longer works run LIST and see if the Block is an anonymous name now and not the actual Block name.

SWAG.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
rickp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Message 7 of 9 (298 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

03-02-2014 08:40 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I ran list command before and after the block edit.    Before the edit, the block only had a block name.    After the edit it still had the proper block name, but it also had an anonymouse name.   What does this mean?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 8 of 9 (265 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

03-04-2014 07:49 AM in reply to: rickp

I am wondering if the anonymous name is what is crashing your extraction file and I don't know a solution right off for that.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Valued Contributor
Imui
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Message 9 of 9 (244 Views)

Re: Dynamic block attributes not updating constants

03-05-2014 04:59 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade
make any change to the block and then reset it. now it will export correctly. Unfortunately takes out the "dynamic" from the dynamic block

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community