Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
strawberry12
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 31 of 46 (921 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

04-18-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: ChuckUK1971

Limits... are based on UK building regs limits.

 

Hm, kind of.

 

Although it's ultimately up to the discretion of your Building Control Officer, generally a 220 going can be used with a max. 198 riser. Similarly, a max rise of 220 can be used with a min. 244 going.

Contributor
ChuckUK1971
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-02-2011
Message 32 of 46 (913 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

04-18-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: strawberry12

My statement meant maximum and minimum sizes of going and risers, that are given in Part K and Part M of the UK Building Regs, both inside a building and out.

 

It is only a range, not a calculator that will avoid the need to think in the average Cad Monkey.

 

Contributor
elderla
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-04-2008
Message 33 of 46 (803 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

12-31-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

This callout block took me some serious help from ojuris (Distinguished Contributor) , utilizing  a different thread in this forum. Thank you, Juris!

 

It is designed to work with the Sheet Set Manager, having sheetset placeholder fields. The actual block can be positioned by first stretching the arrow point to the feature being called out, then by stretching the block to a suitable place for the text, flipping it if necessary. So, it is basically a Sheet Set Manager multileader. You can also position it by inserting it where you want it in the first place, of course. 

It is set to be annotative to every scale I use, so you might have to remove some for your use.....also, of course, the units may have to be adjusted....

I have not tested it for use with the insert block command, because it is intended for use with the sheet set manager.

enjoy!

 

Donna

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 34 of 46 (792 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

01-02-2013 05:57 AM in reply to: elderla

Thanks. Glad to see others looking to share and add to this (and the other share) thread in this Forum.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Distinguished Contributor
ChuckEdwards
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 35 of 46 (790 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

01-02-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Neat little block I cam up with, uses visbility to switch between 6 different type of views, allowing use of a single reference bubble for detail referencing, section referencing, elevation referencing, and detail call outs with choice of circular or rectangular.

 

With the latter choices, the reference bubble and the circle/rectangle can be moved indpendently to each other, and the circle/rectangle can be resized as well, just adjust some of the other linework joining back to the reference to clean it up.

Contributor
Holly_Jones
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 36 of 46 (718 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

02-01-2013 03:09 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I just started building DBk's and don't have anything impresive to show off but I have to say the samples are so heplful to my understanding of how DBk's work.

I am (sadly) well behind the times (LT2009) and I despise DWG Truview with a passion. I find it so painful to use and will launch it only if absolutely necessary (ie I know that there is something in the .dwg file that I really, really want).

I know I may be asking a bit but it would be awfully nice if you could "save as". I'm pretty sure it's like a million times easier for you to do that than for me to **** around with the vile program.

Thanks

Holly

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 37 of 46 (712 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

02-03-2013 04:24 AM in reply to: Holly_Jones

Are you using Trueview to Convert DWG files to 2007 release format?

If so there is no need to SaveAs. The DWG file is just "updated" to that format.

Then Open it with LT.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
Holly_Jones
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 38 of 46 (700 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

02-04-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Thanks, Charles. I guess there's something to be said about knowing how to use the tools that are available.

Valued Mentor
steven-g
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 39 of 46 (677 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

02-06-2013 10:38 PM in reply to: Holly_Jones

Here is my humble offering, it's a work in progress, I use it for a visual check of door handing against an x-ref, and also for inputting data from site surveys as to door opening sizes, we can have several hundred doors on a project. each block also has about 250 attributes, listing various features and door furniture but most are just there to autopopulate our excel door list. I use layer naming and colouring, to group doors by types. -ATTEDIT is great for globally changing attributes in all the blocks, which is a real time saver.

A lot of the info is in Dutch but you can see the possibilities, I am hoping to add visstates for different frame types and a more visual effect for things like fire rating and door furniture, as well as double doors.

The title of this thread contains "Show Off" so heres the show off bit, I then have an excel sheet that manipulates the data and produces various lists for ordering door blanks and door furniture. All I need do then is prepare the faxes and place the orders, now if I can just get our IT department to install fax drivers.

Regards Steven Gray
Setting Out (Joinery Manufacturing)
Autocad 2013LT
Windows 7 professional
Valued Mentor
steven-g
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 40 of 46 (660 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Show Off TOO

02-11-2013 11:13 PM in reply to: steven-g

Just a couple of simple ones that I use a lot. I do a fair bit of cabinet design and these help divide up spaces, I have quite a variety of different ones based on the same idea. One is just a straight divider you can either work with set distances ie. set distance1 to 600mm and use the other points to position items every 600mm or pick the 5th point and stretch it to divide an object equally.

The second divider I use to place 18mm shelves at equal distances within a cabinet without having to grab a calculator to work out if 4 or 5 shelfs is better. A variation of this one uses a standard 32mm hole spacing for shelving.

Regards Steven Gray
Setting Out (Joinery Manufacturing)
Autocad 2013LT
Windows 7 professional

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community