Dynamic Blocks

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-07-2009
Message 1 of 9 (4,707 Views)

Block Editor won't close!!!!

4707 Views, 8 Replies
10-07-2009 07:28 AM
There doesn't seem to be any consistency to when this problem happens, but I will double click into a dynamic block to edit it in Block Editor. None of the blocks dynamic attributes will show up. Then I try to exit the block using either "bclose" or by clicking "Close Block Editor" and get this message: "bclose command only allowed in block editor". Um... hello Autocad, I'm in the block editor.

My only option at this point is to close the file... CAD politely asks me if I want to save my changes, and unfortunately I made the mistake of saying yes the first time this happened. If I choose to save the changes, when I re-open the CAD file it will only be the block that I was editing! It purges everything else in the file (and it is apparent that it only saved the block b/c my file size is much smaller than the original). The backup file is also only the blocks information, b/c CAD believes it is saving correctly. My other choice is to not save, and lose all of my changes since the last save or since the last autosave.

Anyone else experiencing this problem? Any thoughts?
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 9 (4,707 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

10-08-2009 04:58 AM in reply to: fewltu

This is the second instance of Parameters and Actions not being seen in the BE asked about here in the last couple of days.

> {quote:title=fewltu wrote:}{quote}There doesn't seem to be any consistency to when this problem happens, but I will double click into a dynamic block to edit it in Block Editor. None of the blocks dynamic attributes will show up. Then I try to exit the block using either "bclose" or by clicking "Close Block Editor" and get this message: "bclose command only allowed in block editor". Um... hello Autocad, I'm in the block editor.
>
> Anyone else experiencing this problem? Any thoughts?

I wonder if there is a connection about how you created the block?
http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=747353&tstart=0
Regards, Charles Shade

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*T Bennett
Message 3 of 9 (4,707 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

10-08-2009 06:56 AM in reply to: fewltu
I have no help for you, but am curious about a couple things:

What version of AutoCAD are you using?
What version was the block created with?
Do you get the same results if you use BEDIT to edit the block?

Todd

wrote in message news:6267494@discussion.autodesk.com...
There doesn't seem to be any consistency to when this problem happens, but I
will double click into a dynamic block to edit it in Block Editor. None of
the blocks dynamic attributes will show up. Then I try to exit the block
using either "bclose" or by clicking "Close Block Editor" and get this
message: "bclose command only allowed in block editor". Um... hello Autocad,
I'm in the block editor.

My only option at this point is to close the file... CAD politely asks me if
I want to save my changes, and unfortunately I made the mistake of saying
yes the first time this happened. If I choose to save the changes, when I
re-open the CAD file it will only be the block that I was editing! It purges
everything else in the file (and it is apparent that it only saved the block
b/c my file size is much smaller than the original). The backup file is also
only the blocks information, b/c CAD believes it is saving correctly. My
other choice is to not save, and lose all of my changes since the last save
or since the last autosave.

Anyone else experiencing this problem? Any thoughts?
New Member
Brandon_Pike
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Message 4 of 9 (4,571 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

05-09-2011 09:03 AM in reply to: *T Bennett

We've made the jump from ADT 2007 to AutoCAD Architecture 2012 and we've had the issue of saving while in the block editor come up 3 times now. If the drawing is saved while working in the block editor, that drawing is then saved as the block being edited - losing all other drawing information. I haven't found a way to bring the drawing content back either... Yet......

 

Thanks!

Brandon Pike

Virtual Design Application Specialist
NELSON
Minneapolis, MN
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 5 of 9 (4,561 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

05-10-2011 06:29 AM in reply to: fewltu

Heres a fun thing!

Somestimes when trying to test a block inside Block editor my AutoCad crashes causing it to attempt a save a new recover file.

Now when opening the recover file it says that this block contains dynamic properties etc, wanna open it in Block Editorn?

Pressing yes brings you to the Block editor but there it's just a regular non-dynamic block.

If you close the blockeditor and go back to modell-space you can see the parameters, actions and grips in modellspace and even edit them.

Can anyone explain that?

 

/Thanks

Sincerely

Adam

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-24-2006
Message 6 of 9 (2,371 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

06-26-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: fewltu

I don't know if this is related, but I am having a similar problem. In fact, I am stuck inside the mtext editor, within the block editor. There are two fields I was editing in the mtext object. I can't close the block, can't exit the text editor, and can't save or do anything outside of the text editor.

 

Frustrating. I have to force ACAD to close, losing everything since the last save. I have no solution.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 9 (2,274 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

07-11-2013 07:00 AM in reply to: bgambrell

Is your version fully updated and patched?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
alisterscott
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 8 of 9 (2,178 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

07-22-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

we had this issue on 2013 and exit refedit appeared in the right click toolbar instead of close block editor???

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 9 (2,176 Views)

Re: Block Editor won't close!!!!

07-22-2013 07:53 AM in reply to: alisterscott

Welcome to the Autodesk Forums!

 

New/Old problem? Fully updated and patched?

There is a BE patch as well for some versions.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community