Drafting Techniques

Reply
Active Member
russigc
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2006
Message 1 of 10 (834 Views)

Tangent between two arcs.

834 Views, 9 Replies
04-20-2009 07:33 AM
Does anyone know a quick and easy way of drawing a tangent between two arcs in AutoCAD 2009? I have attached an image showing with yellow lines where the tangent should be drawn.
Thanks so much!
Cornelia
*Gordon Stephens
Message 2 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

04-20-2009 07:51 AM in reply to: russigc

What is wrong with LINE Tan, pick one arc, Tan, pick second arc? Or you
could simply set the Tan osnap and start the Line command followed by two picks
on the two arcs.

--

Gordon

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Does
anyone know a quick and easy way of drawing a tangent between two arcs in
AutoCAD 2009? I have attached an image showing with yellow lines where the
tangent should be drawn. Thanks so much! Cornelia
Active Member
russigc
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2006
Message 3 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

04-20-2009 07:59 AM in reply to: russigc
Unfortunately when using the line or pline command you can't pick tangent as Ofang for the first point of the line... I already tried that.
Active Member
russigc
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2006
Message 4 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

04-20-2009 08:02 AM in reply to: russigc
Never mind - it worked! I have no idea why it did not work before!
Thanks so much!
Active Member
russigc
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2006
Message 5 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

04-20-2009 08:04 AM in reply to: russigc
I never tried the line command for drawing the tangent. I always used the pline command and that would not work....
*Gordon Stephens
Message 6 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

04-20-2009 10:51 AM in reply to: russigc

Glad you got it sorted

--

Gordon

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
never tried the line command for drawing the tangent. I always used the pline
command and that would not work....
Distinguished Contributor
KobusE
Posts: 197
Registered: ‎10-01-2006
Message 7 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

05-16-2009 01:07 AM in reply to: russigc
Line command (not pline)
Hold shift, click on tan
Click on arc close to where tan should be
Still holding shift, click on tan again
Click on next arc close to where tan should be

Tadaaaaa!

Hope it helps.
Valued Contributor
tom_kelly
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 8 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

05-24-2009 11:08 PM in reply to: russigc
Earlier method also works. But what I follow is something different. I draw Circle using Circle--TTR (tangent tangent radius) - click on two arcs one after the other -- you get circle automatically drawn as tangent to other arcs. -- Take point of intersection on both arcs and draw straight line. This should be tangent to arcs.
The reason being I follow this method is you don't have to search for tangent points ..

Tom
www.indovance.com
*Craig P. Black
Message 9 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

10-11-2009 08:14 PM in reply to: russigc
That is not going to work... what radius would you use?


--
So self-absorbed and egotistical, it's like those
hip musicians with their complicated shoes!


wrote in message news:6189102@discussion.autodesk.com...
Earlier method also works. But what I follow is something different. I draw
Circle using Circle--TTR (tangent tangent radius) - click on two arcs one
after the other -- you get circle automatically drawn as tangent to other
arcs. -- Take point of intersection on both arcs and draw straight line.
This should be tangent to arcs.
The reason being I follow this method is you don't have to search for
tangent points ..

Tom
www.indovance.com
New Member
HeadstrongFarm
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-19-2009
Message 10 of 10 (834 Views)

Re: Tangent between two arcs.

10-19-2009 08:40 PM in reply to: russigc
I have to agree with Craig. Drawing a TTR circle will *not* yield the same [correct] tangent points as a straight line unless the radius you choose is infinite. I guess you could substitute in an parsec or something for the radius and it would be close enough, but simply changing your OSNAP or using shift-click>tangent is the method that would give the correct points. It also has the added bonus of just being faster...as long as you're well used to using shift-click to pick points that you don't have set for OSNAP or you need to pick one or two points and don't want to have to turn OSNAP on and off.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community