Drafting Techniques

Reply
Member
whitetiger12
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 1 of 11 (7,346 Views)

Dashed or dotted line

7346 Views, 10 Replies
05-22-2012 10:36 AM

I'm using AutoCAD 200i. I can't figure out how to draw a dashed or dotted line.It will only let me draw solid lines. I've looked through everything. Is it possilbe? 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,889
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 11 (7,331 Views)

Re: Dashed or dotted line

05-23-2012 07:45 PM in reply to: whitetiger12

what is CELTYPE set to?

what is LTSCALE set to?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 3 of 11 (7,325 Views)

Re: Dashed or dotted line

05-24-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: whitetiger12

Try

 

Command:LINETYPE (to go to the linetype manager

then pick LOAD button to choose a linetype, dashed or dotted...

Then pick OK to return to the linetype manager,

select the linetype you want, press current, then OK again to return to the drawing.

 

Draw the line...

 

 

Henrique

 

 

Member
whitetiger12
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 4 of 11 (7,321 Views)

Re: Dashed or dotted line

05-24-2012 12:23 PM in reply to: hmsilva
You are my hero. Thanks! Chad Nuttall Woodcraft 801-952-3962
*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 5 of 11 (7,316 Views)

Re: Dashed or dotted line

05-25-2012 01:22 AM in reply to: whitetiger12

You're welcome, Chad

Member
whitetiger12
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 6 of 11 (7,314 Views)

Default settings

05-25-2012 05:14 AM in reply to: hmsilva
Every time I start a new drawing, I have to go in and modify my settings for text height and line and arrow sizes and offset distance and all that. Is there a way to change my default settings so I don't have to do it for every new drawing? Chad Nuttall Woodcraft 801-952-3962
*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 7 of 11 (7,311 Views)

Re: Default settings

05-25-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: whitetiger12

Chad,

 

you can use an old drawing, save it as your new design,

and start work with all your settings loaded ...

Then delete the old work...

 

Cheers

Henrique

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,581
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 8 of 11 (7,308 Views)

Re: Default settings

05-25-2012 07:58 AM in reply to: whitetiger12

Establish a template file to use for starting new drawings.  This file will be saved with a .dwt file extension.  As you add settings to this file any new drawings will already have those in it.  When you hit save and then pick .dwt through the drop down list autocad will automatically navigate to the default template file location, save the file there.  Example: woodcraft.dwt

 

Then use Options, Files, Templates, and point to the file name so that it will be used with qnew each time.

 

Do you work for Woodcraft?  We used to have a store here and I loved going in there, I still get the catalog and order from there.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 11 (7,296 Views)

Re: Default settings

05-29-2012 04:55 AM in reply to: GrantsPirate

You will find the dwt extention at the bottom of the SaveAs window under Files of type...

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
laraujo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-14-2014
Message 10 of 11 (2,229 Views)

Re: Dashed or dotted line

06-04-2014 11:30 AM in reply to: hmsilva

Hello, I followed the instructions but when I save the drawing the line changes back. 

 

Thanks, Luis.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community