Drafting Techniques

Reply
Contributor
jbcanam
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-27-2007
Message 1 of 6 (15,493 Views)

Convert text to polylines

15493 Views, 5 Replies
02-27-2007 03:16 AM
I currently am using AutoCAD 2007 integrated with Microvellum and would like to know if there is a way to convert text to polylines as Microvellum will only recognize polylines when nesting. Right now I insert text and then have to outline it using th polyline command. This is slow and tedious. Is there a way to convert text to polylines?Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
LLIB789
Posts: 637
Registered: ‎02-24-2006
Message 2 of 6 (15,493 Views)

Re: Convert text to polylines

02-27-2007 04:05 AM in reply to: jbcanam
If you have express tools you can use this command.. TXTEXP The polylines that are formed are not joined though. If you need them joined you will have to do a pedit after..
Mentor
Hugh_Compton
Posts: 709
Registered: ‎04-21-2006
Message 3 of 6 (15,493 Views)

Re: Convert text to polylines

02-27-2007 04:50 AM in reply to: jbcanam
It is a good idea to use a font such as Arial as you will then be able to extrude the text to make 3D text. Fonts such as Simplex aren't extrudable without extra work.
---------------------------------------
CAD Pipe Fittings - http://www.herculedesign.com/
Distinguished Contributor
teiarch
Posts: 4,414
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 4 of 6 (15,493 Views)

Re: Convert text to polylines

02-27-2007 07:01 AM in reply to: jbcanam
Try the Elevation command on SHX fonts....
New Member
paul
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2007
Message 5 of 6 (6,812 Views)

Re: Convert text to polylines

04-25-2013 11:10 PM in reply to: LLIB789
it doesn`t work ?
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 6 (6,800 Views)

Re: Convert text to polylines

04-26-2013 04:35 AM in reply to: paul

Search these Forums for (and excuse me if I get this a bit mixed up) Exploding text, DXFOUT, DXFIN and more.

There are discusssions on doing such a thing to get Text entities broken down.

Roundtripping thru R14 may be a part of it as well.

Sorry to be so limited in this response.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community