Design Review

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
noahma
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 1 of 15 (1,687 Views)

"There was a problem displaying the file"

1687 Views, 14 Replies
05-17-2009 12:37 AM
Whenever I export one of my models from Autocad Architecture 2009, I get this error message, and then cannot see any of said model. "There was a problem displaying the file" This happens with EVERY 3d model export. 2d plots just fine though. Any ideas on how to fix this?
Employee
SilviaCao
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎06-07-2009
Message 2 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

06-18-2009 12:48 AM in reply to: noahma
Thank you for your question.

Please download the latest Autodesk Design Reviewer 2010 and test again, i don't see this error dialog when I export a model from Autocad Architecture 2009.

If the issue still exists, please upload your test files (the original Autocad file, the exported 3d model DWF/DWFx file, and more descriptions about the procession you export the 3d model) here and post back with the link for me to investigate.

Silvia


Silvia Cao
SW Engineer
PSEB-GE- ACRD PSEB
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
noahma
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 3 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

06-26-2009 03:29 PM in reply to: noahma
Thank you for the reply, sorry it took me a while to respond. I do have the newest version of Design Review installed.
the problem is not contained to only one project, it goes with really any project. I can export a simple single mass element into a DWFX file and successfully open it for viewing, but anything more than that and I get the error "there was a problem displaying the file" my project files are simply too big to upload. But I can give you a good description of how I am creating them. I have all of my project files using Autocad Architecture xref'd into a view file. I then type in Export and choose the DWFx extension, and press save. I have tried to bind the xref's and I get the same error result. I have tred this usin Autocad Architecture 2008-2009-2010.

All with the same results.

It seems to stem from the projects created under 2009

(Before pressing the post button, I attempted to upload a DWF and DWG file that was having problems, I reduced them to the smallest file size I could possably do, and it would not allow me to upload them due to size [
Employee
SilviaCao
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎06-07-2009
Message 4 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

07-08-2009 08:23 PM in reply to: noahma
Thank you for your persistence and patience.

Maybe you could please try to separate the DWG and DWF files into a few smaller individual zip files and then try to upload them again?

Silvia


Silvia Cao
SW Engineer
PSEB-GE- ACRD PSEB
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
wouterbleumink
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 5 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

08-19-2009 03:28 AM in reply to: noahma
Hi,

I am having the same problem. I think it is related to the render materials used in the model. I allready tried to disable any 'procedural mappings' used in the material's but to no effect.

when i change my display-representation to anything other then 'Bouwkundig VIZ', i have no problem creating a 3DDWF

i attached 2 files for you to test

thanx in advance
Active Contributor
wouterbleumink
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 6 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

08-19-2009 03:32 AM in reply to: noahma
and the DWG file
Employee
kevin.moore
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎11-25-2007
Message 7 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

08-19-2009 03:09 PM in reply to: noahma
Hi,

I verified the DWF file you attached cannot be opened in ADR 2010.

I was able to Publish your DWG file using AutoCAD 2010 SP1 and view the DWF and DWFx files in ADR 2010. However, I did get a warning, "Incompatible or missing plot style.' when publishing the DWF and DWFx files. Also, both of my DWF/DWFx files were smaller.

I suspect either there is a problem with the Page setup for the 2D "Work" layout that might be corrupting the DWF file.


Experiments:

3D model only - 3DDWF command.
1. Open the DWG file. 2. Select the Model tab. Enter "3DDWF". This will publish a 3D DWF file.


3D model only - Publish, delete the Layout tab in the Publish dialog.
1. Open the DWG file. 2. Enter Publish. Select the Work layout, right click, delete. Publish.


3D model only - Publish, delete the layout tab in the DWG file. (Do not save! or test with a copy.)
1. Open the DWG file. Right click on the "Work" layout tab and delete it. Publish.

I would like to figure out if the 2D layout is causing problems or if there is a problem with 3D publishing.

Please let us know if you can create a 3D DWF file.

Thank you,

Kevin


Kevin Moore
Test Development
AutoCAD
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
noahma
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 8 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

08-19-2009 09:50 PM in reply to: noahma
1. problem displaying files.

2. same, problem displaying file.

3. same, problem displaying the file.

I have no idea what is causing this.

If I create the project for Autocad Architecture in Autocad Architecture 2008, it has no problem creating the DWFX, it only happens when I create a project in 2009, then attempt to create a DWFX file out of that project.

Thank you for the replys. I am glad I am not going crazy, and others may be having the same problems as I am.
Active Contributor
wouterbleumink
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 9 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

08-19-2009 11:02 PM in reply to: noahma
I am sorry, i did not mention that i was trying to create a 3D DWF only.

The attached DWF was created using the 3DDWF command from ACA2009

I tried the same method in ACA2010, but it has the same result.

I think it has something to do with the materials used. When i switch display configuration's to anything but 'Bouwkundig VIZ' i have no problem creating a 3DDWF

I will try the other 2 options you mentioned and report back to you

TIA

Wouter
Active Contributor
wouterbleumink
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 10 of 15 (1,687 Views)

Re: "There was a problem displaying the file"

08-20-2009 12:19 AM in reply to: noahma
Alas,

the other 2 methodes you mentioned did not work either.

The problem is restricted to the 'Bouwkundig VIZ' display configuration in the DWG. I normally use this representation for e.g. creating artist impressions.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community